News‎ > ‎

Next Stamford Presidents looking ahead

posted 30 Jun 2018, 10:24 by Stamford Indoor Bowls   [ updated 1 Jul 2018, 09:42 by Keith Rippin ]
Arthur Lonslow and Shirley Suffling are set to be the new presidents of Stamford Indoor Bowls Club and are looking forward to the 2018-19 season.

Both attended their first management committee meeting in June and will be officially inaugurated on October 6 when traditionally the outgoing presidents (currently Kevin Vinter and Rosemary Roberts) hand over the badges of office at the annual presentation night.

Arthur, who spent 23 years as a maintenance electrician at Dow-Mac and 17 years as a generator winder at Newage, has been bowling for just six years and this season will co-captain the men's B team. 

Shirley is also retired, and a former sales and business advisor with Barclays Bank and spent four years at The Card Factory. She is a founder member of the Stamford indoor club (formed in 1990) having started bowling at Easton and Barnack outdoor clubs in the 1980s.

She is treasurer at Ketton BC and has won several Northants Federation titles both indoor and outdoor.

Gary Oliver is Stamford IBC's new treasurer, succeeding Brian Edwards, while Ian Hall is premises officer and Ian Cooper has joined the management committee.