News‎ > ‎

Bailey rings the changes for visit to Louth

posted 5 Oct 2018, 08:51 by Stamford Indoor Bowls   [ updated 5 Oct 2018, 08:59 ]
IN PURSUIT of the club's second Lincolnshire Men's League Division One title in three years, new 'A' team captain Paul Bailey has rung the changes for the opening visit to Louth on Saturday (October 13, 1.50pm start).

Among those returning to the side are Mick Smith, Dave Hudson and Jay Travis-Jenner, while there's also a place for 10-year-old Owen Aspinall. Also making their debut are Mick Linnell and Scotsman Ali McNaughton.

Stamford will be out to improve on last year's second place behind Lincoln 'A' with Grantham and Sleaford returning to the first division following the relegation of Spalding and Scunthorpe's withdrawal.

Stamford A: Alan Romaine, Mike Ramsden, Cliff Watson, Roger Martin; Richard Allam, Mick Linnell, Doug Want, Peter Edwards; Wayne Aspinall, Chris Ballard, Ali McNaughton, Bob Warters; Dave Hudson, Mick Smith, Mick Himphreys, Martyn Dolby; Owen Aspinall, Jay Travis-Jenner; Adam Warrington, Paul Bailey.


Such is his reputation as a former England international, that Tristan Morton - a new member at Stamford IBC this season - has been drafted straight into the Lincolnshire side which begins its defence of the Liberty (Inter-County) Trophy at York against Yorkshire on Saturday, October 27.

He will a skip a rink that also includes clubmate Simon Law, Adrian Field (Boston) and Spalding's Martin Spencer.

Lincolnshire: M Whyers (Spalding), R Vinter (Boston), M Pulling (Granthm), M Orrey (Spalding); A Watts, R Ashton, K Rands, B Jackson (all Lincoln); I Clark, R West (Boston), A Dunham (Spalding), J West (Boston); A Field (Boston), S Law (Stamford), M Spencer (Stamford), T Morton (Stamford); S Harris (Spalding), T Berridge (Grantham), K Ekins, G Smith (Spalding); J Staples (Lincoln), N Orrey (Grantham), B Wilson (Lincoln), J Philpott (Spalding).


Stamford's Over 60s team lost its second successive Lincolnshire League  Division Two match at Boston 88-112, conceding all but two of the 18 points available.

The only winning rink was skipped by Trevor Christie, whom with David Howarth, Terry Weaver and Alec March won 17-16 after trailing by four with four ends to play.

Mick Owens' rink led by four after 17 ends but dropped six in three ends to lose by one.

The team is home Skegness on Wednesday (10.30 am).

Results (Stamford names only): 

Lincs Over 60s League Division Two: Boston 112 (16 pts) Stamford 88 (2). R Graham, M De Camps, D Veasey, K Gentry lost 29-13; D Howarth, T Weaver, A March, T Christie won 17-14; A Romaine, G Corby, D Heffernan, C Watson lost 23-21; M Ramsden, R Blake, D Henshaw, K Vinter lost 34-16; T Barwell, A Lonslow, M Dye, M Owens lost 22-21


After a successful second hernia operation, Blackstones' Martyn Dolby is expected to be fit to take his place in the Northants 'A' team for the Derbyshire Trophy inter county match against Northants B at Stamford IBC on Sunday, October 14 (10am).

He skips a rink which features Stephen Harris, runner-up in Sunday's Stamford Open singles and Tony Scarr - a former EBF outdoor triples winner.

The fixture, which competition rules demand always precedes the other matches in the EBF southern group against North Cambs, Norfolk, Lincs and Hunts will again be keenly contested with most of the players familiar with the Stamford IBC surface.

The A team also features a welcome return of Jeff Newson as No.2 to former England international Tristan Morton, both Parkway outdoor players and currently gaining valuable experience of the playing conditions as new members of the Stamford indoor club.

The A team is: Paul Dalliday, James Harford, Simon Law (Parkway); Adam Warrington, Mick Humphreys & Roger Martin (Blackstones); Stephen Harris(Blackstones), Tony Scarr (Parkway) & Martyn Dolby (Blackstones); Nick Wilkie (Vanguard), Jeff Newson & Tris Morton (Parkway).

The B team is Helen Holroyd (Stamford Town), Cliff Watson (Peterborough & District) and Peter Brown (Whittlesey Manor); Mike Ramsden (Vanguard), Richard Allam and John Holroyd (Stamford Town); Brian Bassam (P & D), Dick Noble (West Ward) and Paul Bailey (Blackstones); Les Sharp (Broadway), Mick Linnell and Rod Maplethorpe (West Ward).

The match is followed at 2.10 by the annual match between a Stamford Presidents team and Lincolnshire Vice Presidents.