Any magical or non-magical ability can be referred to as an "innate" ability. However, in the context of initiative, the term is used to note abilities without a casting time and not specifically tied to a melee or missile attack (actions which occur in their own initiative step).
Even excepting the attack functions, the array of abilities included is far more than can be detailed here individually. Thus, categories will deal with types and all others fall into the "other" category.
The important constant for use in this initiative phase is the fact that none of these abilities must be cast (unlike incantations or invocations) or have formal casting times.
Most can be initiated in 1 segment. They occur in order of initiative. If a specific segment is required, it will typically occur on segment 1. However, if a spell wins initiative, the effect happens the segment after the spell is cast.
In any case, innate abilities must be used before other actions as shown in the combat round flowchart.
Minor Action Innate Abilities. Many innate abilities are minor actions. This means the ability can be used during the innate phase in group actions, then, the creature using the ability can attack in melee, attack with a missile weapon or move (or perform other mundane actions).
Certain innate abilities, such as spell-like abilities, cannot be used by an individual in the same round as using other magical innate abilities (with effects like spells), using a magic item functions that are similar to spells, invocations, or casting a spell (incantation).
If an innate ability disallows the use of a "spell" (which means treat it as a spell-like ability in terms of other magical activities that can or cannot be performed during the same round), the ability will state this in its description.
Concentration. See concentration. Innate abilities requiring concentration to maintain will be noted: (concentration) and/or in the duration: "(C)".
Common innate ability types are:
Auras. [innate; emanation] (continuous; [radius <#>-ft.])
An aura is an effect that emanates from a creature and affects those coming into it's area of effect. Typically, the area of effect is noted as being a radius around the creature, although rarely, this is range of sight. Some auras are "always on" and some are initiated using a verbal or mental command. The ability will include whether the initiation is a major action or minor action. When aura's area of effect is entered, the effect is immediate. The ability is noted here for those abilities that must be initiated by action. See also Vile Spells, Spell Rules.
Typical auras include stench, fear, heat/cold, or continuous sonic effects.
Breath. <#>/day. [innate] (major, 1 segment)
Also known as a breath weapon, these attacks typically issue an area effect from a creature's mouth. Unless otherwise specified, breath weapons need no attack roll and all in the area of effect must make saving throws as applicable against the effect. If used in melee, creatures affected may be chosen at random unless single foe targeting is allowed. See D3. Melee, The Fog of Melee, Area Attacks that Bisect a Melee.
By brandishing their holy or unholy symbol, clerics have the ability to cause undead to flee, or, in the case of evil clerics, come under their command.
Turn Undead. [innate] (major)
Good clerics, including some Neutral clerics gain the ability to cause undead to flee (or, at higher levels, be destroyed). The use of the ability assumes fast access to the character's holy symbol (around neck, in hand, etc.) as one hand must be free to hold aloft the symbol. Otherwise, turning could be a delaying activity. All undead must be able to clearly see the symbol held.
The cleric must hold forth his or her holy symbol where the undead can see it. This means line of sight is required and effective range is usually 60 feet although elevation and lighting may modify this (per the GM).
The cleric will roll a turn check (d20; see the chart; if the result is equal to or less, the attempt is successful) to see if the undead are affected. If the check fails, the cleric cannot attempt to turn that group of undead again for 10 rounds. If successful, 1d12 undead (of the appropriate type) are turned (see below).
A "T" means no roll is necessary and 1d12 undead are turned automatically.
A "D" means no roll is necessary and 1d12 undead are automatically destroyed. A D* means the number is 1d6+6 undead rather than 1d12.
If the group of undead includes more than one type of undead or those of differing power levels, see Turning Mixed Groups below.
Special. Demons or devils (and, per the GM, other lower planes creatures) may be affected. Numbers affected are only 1d2 in any case. Note. As a rule of thumb, creatures with an AC -5 or better, or 11+ HD, or 176% or better magic resistance are immune to turning by clerics. A cleric can exorcize a possessing demon with a successful turn check (assuming it would otherwise be successful against the demon under the rules for Special creatures).
Turned. Any affected undead will be panicked for 3d4 rounds. Undead may be attacked as they flee and if cornered, they will cower. Undead that flee melee can be attacked using free attacks (and the undead will continue to flee). The cleric that turned the undead may attack cowering undead without reprisal (missile, melee, or magic). If others engage cowering undead in melee, the specific undead creature struck will counter attack. However, missile weapons may be used without counter attacks occurring. Once the duration expires, the undead may be turned again.
Destroyed. The undead are reduced to ash and irrevocably destroyed. Any gear worn or carried by the undead falls to the ground. Incorporeal undead are instead damned (effectively destroyed/gone).
If the undead are mindless or not being controlled by an undead leader which is present, the cleric may attempt to turn each type of undead once—beginning with the lowest hit dice type first—as long as each attempt is successful (one attempt being made per round). A failure indicates the cleric cannot attempt turning again for 10 rounds.
If intelligent undead are being controlled by a more powerful (and present) undead leader, the roll must be made against the value on the table for the higher level undead to affect the lower hit dice undead (and these will be affected first, protecting the leader).
A cleric may attempt to negate the effects of a cleric who has affected undead or other creatures. The effect must be opposite: a turn affects a command or vice versa. The table is consulted, and if the countering cleric is successful, the affected undead are freed of the effects of the first cleric’s efforts. Of course, this counter will not restore any undead that is destroyed. This counter may in turn be countered, etc. This may continue indefinitely until one or the other cleric fails a roll and is no longer eligible to affect undead et al. When affected creatures have clerical effects countered, they cannot act until the next round.
Countering Turning Effects in the Same Round. In the case that one cleric has declared a turning attempt and an opposing cleric has declared a command attempt, in the same round (does not need to be simultaneous), the procedure is as follows:
Check the table to ensure the undead would have been affected by both parties. If not, there is no counter. If so...
If the turning priest's turn check is a "D" and that priest has HIGH initiative and the opposing priests have LOW initiative, any affected undead are destroyed or damned before the opposing priest(s) can counter. However, the commanding priest can still command any undead that remain (according to their results of course). Otherwise...
The result with the higher number *over that required to turn or command* will "win" and the undead act according to the winner. A "T" is equal to 2. If the same, victory goes to the one with HIGH initiative. If simultaneous, the higher level priest will win. If the same, opposing d20 rolls will occur until a winner emerges.
If multiple clerics are turning/commanding, their results are also checked. The winning result stands - including the number affected and duration of the effect.
In terms of number affected, only the winning result's number affected stands. ie. There will not a be a situation where some undead are turned while other commanded. At least one undead affected by both opposing turning/commanding priests must be able to "see" both priests. Otherwise, the counter attempt fails as the undead would not have been affected by one opponent. In this case, facing is not used, since the period is the entire round.
In the case where a successful counter was made, the affected undead cannot be affected by a losing priest for 10 rounds.
Command Undead. [innate] (major)
Evil clerics, including some Neutral clerics, gain the ability to cause undead to obey commands (or if powerful, at least entertain an offer). The use of the ability assumes fast access to the character's holy symbol (around neck, in hand, etc.) as one hand must be free to hold aloft the symbol. Otherwise, turning could be a delaying activity. All undead must be able to clearly see the symbol held.
The cleric must hold forth his or her holy symbol where the undead can see it. This means line of sight is required and effective range is usually 60 feet although elevation and lighting may modify this (per the GM).
The cleric will roll a command check (d20; see the chart; if the result is equal to or less, the attempt is successful) to see if the undead are affected. If the check fails, the cleric cannot attempt to command that group of undead again for 10 rounds. If successful, 1d12 undead (of the appropriate type) are commanded (see below).
A "T" or "D" means no roll is necessary and 1d12 undead are commanded automatically.
A D* means the number is 1d6+6 undead rather than 1d12.
If the group of undead includes more than one type of undead or those of differing power levels, see Commanding Mixed Groups below.
Special. Upper planes (Good-aligned extra-planar) creatures may be affected (in this case, turned). Numbers affected are only 1d2 in any case. Note. As a rule of thumb, creatures with an AC -5 or better, or 11+ HD, or 176% or better magic resistance are immune to turning by clerics.
Evil Clerics Affecting Paladins. An Evil-aligned cleric, whether their deity grants turning or commanding ability can turn paladins depending upon the class level of the paladin. The effect is mapped on the table: 1st-2nd level paladin = mummy; 3rd-4th level paladin = spectre; 5th-6th level paladin = vampire; 7th-8th level paladin = ghost; 9th-10th level paladin = lich; 11th+ level paladin = special. There is no saving throw available to a paladin affected by this ability (although any Good-aligned cleric may counter it).
Commanded. If each of the undead is fewer hit dice than the cleric, they will be friendly and the undead are compelled to do some service for up to 24 hours (minus the score required for commanding on the table converted into subtracted hours). Commands are given via magical control (and must be verbal).
Thus, a 1st level cleric can command a skeleton for up to 14 hours. A failed check allows the undead to follow previous commands or attack as they desire.
A “T” in the chart means no subtraction from the time.
A “D” on the chart indicates the duration for compulsion is 6 days rather than 24 hours (and no subtraction).
At any time during the effect, the cleric may renew their control (resetting the duration) following the same procedure.
If the undead are higher hit dice than the cleric, they will become neutral rather than friendly and will not attack. Intelligent undead may consider requests by the cleric and make strike a deal with the cleric. In any case, if the commanding cleric is killed or becomes unconscious, the creature's normal attitude will resume. In this case, no magical control ability is given and simple parley rules are used.
Similarly, if any hostile acts are taken or acts against the undead’s raison d’être (“reason for being”) such as accessing guarded items or guarded areas, the compulsion will be broken. The cleric will gain an understanding what acts will cause the command to be broken.
Command vs Command. If commanding undead already being commanded by a cleric who is also present, a successful command will cause mindless undead to cease attacking (will not attack either group while under the effect of the new command). In the case of intelligent undead, the higher level cleric using the command undead ability will have command, although if not friendly, the undead will refuse to attack the opposing commanding cleric. If both commanding clerics are the same level, the undead will not attack either side even if friendly.
If the undead are mindless or not being controlled by an undead leader which is present, the cleric may attempt to command each type of undead once—beginning with the lowest hit dice type first—as long as each attempt is successful (one attempt being made per round). A failure indicates the cleric cannot attempt commanding again for 10 rounds.
If intelligent undead are being controlled by a more powerful (and present) undead leader, the roll must be made against the value on the table for the higher level undead to affect the lower hit dice undead (and these will be affected first, protecting the leader).
As described under turn undead, above.
Gaze. <#>/day. [innate] (minor, <#>-ft. radius)
A gaze attack is normally an active attack by a creature, using it's ocular organs to deliver the effect. If a radius is not specified, the radius will be 60-ft. in bright light and 30-ft. in shadowy light (and no gaze can affect those who cannot see!). This is a quick attack as the creature flicks it's eyes over the battlefield looking for a likely victim.
Each round, during declaration, the GM will roll a gaze check for each individual in the area of effect.
If the gaze check is successful, the creature can be targeted by the gazer during their group's innate abilities initiative. The gazer knows which targets are meeting it's gaze. Normally, only a single creature can be targeted with a gaze attack each round unless stated otherwise in the creature's description.
Once the gaze attack is delivered, the creature can then attack in melee or with a missile weapon, move, or perform other actions. A gaze attack cannot be performed in the same round as spell-like abilities or spells (invocations or incantations).
A creature targeted with a gaze attack adds it's Dexterity Dodge save adjustment to the save.
A creature with a gaze attack that cannot see a target (due to invisibility or the like), cannot deliver a gaze attack against the target.
Averting Your Eyes. (declared) You declare one creature in combat to avert your eyes from. You suffer a -4 penalty to attacks that target the creature.
Closing Your Eyes. (declared) You declare you will close your eyes during the melee round. You are blind during that round.
Magical Control. [innate] (minor unless indicated otherwise)
Magical Control means that one creature can influence or compel another creature. Some types of magical control allow mental communication and others require verbal communication.
Issuing a command to a controlled creature or group is normally a minor action innate ability. However, if noted, this activity may be a major action.
Verbal Communication Required. The one being controlled must be able to understand the controller. Otherwise, creatures with an Intelligence rating of Low or higher can also interpret gestures (go there, attack that one, stop, etc.). Any creature that is not mindless can told to leave the area through gestures. A creature that is controlled that cannot understand the controller will not attack the controller or their allies but will defend itself if attacked (and counter attack).
Mental Communication. Magical control allowing mental communication will allow the controller to give commands through mental contact. If range is not given, the range is line of sight. For creatures with less than a Low Intelligence rating, commands must be simple but can include visual cues. E.g. "Attack" (that one or them), "Protect" (me and follow), "Guard" (this area from any who don't look like me). Commands can include listening for passphrases or looking for certain items (a special amulet or color of robe).
If the controller has the ability to communicate effectively with the controlled creatures (speak with animals, tongues, speak with monsters, etc.), Intelligence rating may not be a limiter in terms of commands (per the GM). A controller can always give commands verbally if a shared language exists even if control allows mental communication.
Some types of magical control require continuous concentration on behalf of the controller. If this is the case, it will be noted in the ability (a concentration requirement may also be denoted in the duration with a "(C)"). If concentration is broken or lapses, the control is also relinquished.
When a command is issued to a mindless creature, it will follow that command until it is destroyed or the controller changes the command. Other creatures will end the activity based upon their interpretation of the controller's intent. E.g. A skeleton (mindless) commanded to dig a hole (without any further detail) will keep digging until it falls apart or the hole collapses on it, while a badger may dig a hole the depth of it's body before stopping and clambering out.
If continuous concentration is not required, once the controller has issued a command, they are free to act normally.
Because activating magical control is a magical innate ability, this ability cannot be performed in the same round as spell casting, invoking magical items, or using spell-like abilities. Likewise, certain other magical innate abilities cannot be used in the same round (if they duplicate or are similar to spell effects) as magical control per the GM.
Even if control is established, the GM may decide certain circumstances will override the controller's commands. For example, it is too late to command a hungry badger to follow you (or to stop attacking) when it is already feasting! Certain abilities will also overide control (such as the aforementioned badger and it's frenzy ability or those that become berserk or enraged).
Spell-like Abilities. [innate] (major) (caster level [CL] <#>) <#>/day—<spells>.
A spell-like ability is an innate ability that creates an effect that duplicates the spell of the same name. Only one spell-like ability can be used per round per creature. A creature cannot cast a spells of any kind (incantations or invocations), in the same round they use a spell-like ability. Using a spell-like ability is a major action (unless described otherwise), does not require declaring the ability (but it must be used during the innate phase of initiative) and takes 1 segment.
Unless stated otherwise, spell-like abilities will always use the magic-user version of the spell. For spell-like abilities that use touch spells, refer to Touch Spells.
Spell Target Selection. [innate] (minor*)
This initiative step is also where spell casters (casting either an incantation or invocation) will announce their targets. Thus, the spell is considered to be cast, but the GM reserves the right to wait until all actions are complete before announcing the results. See also E. Spells.
Other Innate Ability. [innate] (major, 1 segment or varies)
These abilities encompass anything not covered by the preceding innate abilities or those considered part of missile or melee attacks. Using a magic innate ability is typically a major action unless the description states otherwise.
Examples include a creature's magical roar, conjuring/calling creatures, shape changing, etc.