The descriptions and histories the several state parks situated along or adjacent to the Columbia River Highway in its scenic march up the river, merge into and are so much a part of the natural and historic features of the non-park areas that, except in a few outstanding instances, the parks are a part of the general picture as viewed by the traveler in passing through this area.
In the Gorge section, state park history began in 1922 with the purchase of certain small tracts for the protection of slopes along the Hood River loops. Sheridan Park, also in Hood River County, adjacent to the Bonneville Dam site, was purchased in 1923. The first tract acquired in Wasco County was the Meyer Park, a 1924 gift area. The Guy W. Talbot Park was the first Multnomah County tract, a gift to the state in 1929. Since then the acquisition of state parks in the Gorge has gone on in an orderly succession of well chosen sites, selected by Samuel H. Boardman, State Parks Superintendent, with his usual discriminating care. As of December 31, 1944, the aggregated 1,883 acres, 1,431 acres were gifts to the State and 452 acres were purchased.
Ranging from Portland eastward to The Dalles, the first state owned park area along the Columbia River Highway is a tract of one acre, situated just above the lower Sandy River bridge; the last one the the Lewis and Clark Plaza, just within the city limits of The Dalles.
W. A. Langille
State Parks Historian
December 5, 1945