I don't know if this has come up in any of the games you guys have reffed, but I just saw a situation in a BW game that got me thinking about the turn chart and how it is applied when a split turn rate is being used.
The situation was this, a Player was trying to maneuver to shoot another that was residing on a hex side.
At speed 5.5+ with 6FPs, using the BT rate turn, he was forced to turn inside the target (2-1-2 sequence) losing the field of fire, and by doing an HT rate first, followed by a BT rate (3-2-1 sequence) to try and widen his turn, he turned outside the target also losing the field of fire. Even by extending the middle BT turn (2-2-2 sequence), he ended outside of the target.
However, if the rules allowed you to initiate and then reinitiate the 2-1 BT rate sequence at any time in a continued turn he could have gotten a great shot, right up the targets ass (Played as 2, restart 2-1 sequence, last FP not turning, but running up the target's rear)
While I could write this off as a hex-grid anomaly and relative position issue, it does seem wrong that if an aircraft can turn inside another, that it can't play its FPs to turn up its ass when one sequence puts you inside and another forces you outside.
So, I'm going to rule that if you start a split-turn sequence, the larger portion of it can be repeated any number of times before the smaller portion of it is invoked.
JD
(https://groups.io/g/FW-Ref-Central/message/2325) 15/07/2013
Consider this an officially permitted act then for reffing.
In short - in a split turn sequence, any number of longer turn FP requirements can precede the smaller turn FP requirement.
You can never start with the short side, but you can delay it. Once the short side is used, the long side MUST come next.
JD
(https://groups.io/g/FW-Ref-Central/message/2333) 15/07/2013
Guys, I've had a quick look to see if this has been covered already, but couldn't find anything. Apologies if it has
Here's the last couple of moves from a Brewster at speed 5.0:
Turn 15 - 2H to roll from RB to LV, 2H to roll to LB, 1H.......................this 1H starts the 2-1 BT sequence, so is carried into T16 as a 1BTL (1/2 BTL)
(a) Turn 16 - Is extending the carried turn while still retaining the "1" of the "2-1" sequence allowed? e.g 3H BTL (4/2 BTL) turn L30, 1H BTL (1/1 BTL) turn L30.
(b) or, because the first BTL was "extended" ,does it cancel and therefore "re-set" the 2-1 sequence to the beginning again?
(c) Also, can the second part of a 2-1 sequence be extended. e.g. 2H (2/2BTL) turn L30, 2H (2/1BTL) turn L30?
(a) I would say yes. The only requirement for the "1" is that you do the 'long' turn (2) first.
(b) I would say no to.
(c) Yes. This is equivalent to restarting the "2-1" sequence, where the next BT would be the 1 FP variety.
Once you start a mixed turn sequence (2-1 or 3-2) does NOT lock you into this sequence, where you have to restart at the beginning if you do not follow it to the letter (number).
You can do a BT2, BT3, BT1 and still meet the intent of the 2-1.
Wild Bill
(https://groups.io/g/FW-Ref-Central/message/2701) 16/01/2015
(a) Yes. Unless the speed range (and thus turn requirement) changes, but I’m assuming it stays the same
(b) Nope.
(c) Yes, it can. But as that pilot, I’d rather “restart” the sequence, i.e. 2H (BTL 1-2/2, 30L), H (BTL1/2) That way I can then apply the 1/1 rate immediately after having finished the carried turn if need be (keep my options open)
Drew
(https://groups.io/g/FW-Ref-Central/message/2703) 16/01/2015