When an A/C uses the last FP expended before firing to skid and change facing, does only the last FP provides a turning gunfire arc, or does all the FPs spent in the skid requirement provide a turning gunfire arc ?
So to know if Long Burst or Tracking Shot can be used.
Just the last FP, tracking and long burst will not be possible in this case, just an expanded angle of fire.
JD
(https://groups.io/g/FW-Ref-Central/message/1936) 02/07/2012
After a reversal, and for shooting horizontal gun arc, do you use a turning arc or a not turning arc ?
I know reversal is not turning, but so I thought for a skid with facing, and I learnt that a skid with facing used the turning arc while a skid without facing used a non turning arc.
The rules clearly state the turning arc is used if the last fp played prior to shooting was turning fp or caused a facing change.
JD
(https://groups.io/g/FW-Ref-Central/message/2379) 17/10/2013
If the reversal was the result of the last FP spent prior to shooting - you would be correct (turning arc).
If you reversed in mid-move and moved forward 1 or more FP without turning or facing prior to combat - the non-turning gun arc would then apply.
So I'm saying - a reversal in and of itself does not guarantee the player a turning gun arc in all cases. It is FP by FP dependent.
JD
(https://groups.io/g/FW-Ref-Central/message/2381) 18/10/2013
Got a wildcat on a hex spline with a possible target in the hex left of the spline. Wildcat moved after the Zero, declared tailing, and a shot. Does he have a shot?
If it's the Wildcat-2 on 2446/2546, it has NEITHER a shot or tailing against Zero 5 in hex 2546.
The Zero is not in the Horizontal gun arc, nor in the forward arc of the Wildcat, facts which deny both shot and tailing opportunities.
The player may be confusing the fact that the range between both planes would be counted as Zero since the Wildcat is on a hexside of the Zero's hex but the Positions also matter, and the planes are NOT in the same position.
Just because it is range 0 by range counting methodology does let the player claim to be in the Zero's hex. The Wildcat is on the hexside which is by definition, a different position than the Zero in the game.
Hope that helps.
J.D.
(https://groups.io/g/FW-Ref-Central/message/1392) 28/02/2011
The shooter is in 3347 NE, the target is on 3347/3447 NE.
The shooter comes from 3239, his path was :
H-SRL1/2 (abandon turn), H-LV
H-SRL1/2, H-LB
H-BTL1/3, H, H-30L
H, H
From the graphic in the rule, I said the target is not in the horizontal field of fire of the shooter.
The shooter argues that the 10.2 rule (3rd dot below) allows him to shoot at the target :
10.2 –– SPECIAL GUN COMBAT RULES
Range "0" Attacks: A range "0" attack can occur in the fol¬lowing three situations:
• Shooter is stacked in same hex, or hexside, with target.
• Shooter is in same hex, or hexside as target and within
200 feet of the target's altitude.
• Target on a hexside and shooter in adjacent hex on either
side of the hexside within 200 feet of the target's altitude.
The target claims that under 10.2 there are restrictions, namely this one that makes the shot impossible. :
Range "0" Attack Restrictions: The shooter must have entered the range "0" position after the target did during the game turn. The shooter must meet the "same hex" vertical field-of-fire limits for his flight attitude, and, if not in the exact same location as the target, the horizontal field-of-fire must also be met.
Based on:
“Rule 3.1-Counter Positions, A/C Map Location: A/C must always be located in a hex or on one of the six hexsides forming a hex. When on a hexside, it must be faced parallel to the hexside (Diagram 3.1). A hexside of a hex is a separate location from the hex center.”
The hexside is not the same location as the hex, so the shooter would need to be facing N, NNW, or NW in order shoot at the target.
Here the horizontal field of fire is not met, both A/C being faced NE
So, is the shot possible, or not possible ?
Thanks for any help.
10.2 restriction makes the shot an auto-miss. Target not in horizontal arc.
JD
(https://groups.io/g/FW-Ref-Central/message/3360) 27/09/2018
Since shooter is in hex center and target on hexside, they are not in same "position". Horizontal field of fire limits apply. P-47 does not have target on hexside in horiz. arc. If it were facing N, NNW or NW it would be a valid shot.
(https://fw-fight-13.groups.io/g/main/message/2416) 27/09/2018