Can an A/C be in the same hex with the formation leader in a Fixed formation ?
Below is the third edition rule, with an important highlighted change from WD.
JD
8.5.1 –– FIXED FORMATIONS
Fixed Parameters: >>> Wingmen must be stacked with their leader if in the same hex <<<< : or, if not, they must be on or behind their lead's 3:00 or 9:00 line (Rule 9.3), within two horizontal hexes of range, 100 feet of altitude, and 30° of their leader's facing (2-1-3 is a memory aid).
vvv
Stacked means same position and altitude.
(https://groups.yahoo.com/neo/groups/FW_NA_Battle_One/conversations/messages/3016) 27/01/2015
Can a formation be changed to fixed. They're in a flexible formation due to having used dash speed in op scale.
No - once they degrade to flex, they remain in flex for the duration of the combat. They can only reform fixed next available tac or op-turn.
JD
(https://groups.yahoo.com/neo/groups/FW_NA_Battle_One/conversations/messages/3020) 27/01/2015