When an aircraft stalls and its attitude is adjusted towards VD at HT rate, does the adjustment generate decel points?
The answer is no.
It's gravity pulling you down!
Fred "Wreck" Moehrle
(http://games.groups.yahoo.com/group/Fighting_Wings_Games/message/12268) 19/11/2010
On ANY game turn in which an airplane is stalled with a half FP carry, the half FP carry should be lost.
It does not matter how or when an FP carry is generated, or whether the airplane generated the half FP while flying or stalled.
I would read "brought into the stall" as a turn by turn evaluation.
It doesn't matter that the airplane generated a half FP during a previous stall or not...if it is still stalled at the start of the next game turn, that half FP carry is still "being brought into a stall".
I think it is important to note that this is why the stall rule specifically designates speed as the determiner of whether MC = 0 or 0.3.
Start speed < = 0.5, MC = 0.3, V=0
start speed = 0.5+, half FP lost, refer to previous line.
Start speed = 1.0, MC = 0, V=0.3
In all three cases, the plane is falling as if at speed 1 to gain speed.
JD
(http://games.groups.yahoo.com/group/FW_FR_Fight_11/message/5230) 02/04/2012
When you stall, you forfeit (lose) all carries except for accel and decel. This includes losing any half FP carry you had or would have earned. Stall procedure is not flight. It is a procedure and part of it is to lose all turn, maneuver and FP carry.
Sorry.
JD
(https://groups.yahoo.com/neo/groups/FW_BW_Game_2/conversations/messages/4234) 11/08/2017
If a plane is in a LVL nose attitude, in a stall (speed under minimum speed), his nose attitude adjusts 3 steps toward VD to VD.
So all the plane's FPs will be VFP (as per the standard altitude change table, taking maximum VFP).
Question is : Is it a pure vertical flight attitude ?
I have understood that pure vertical can only exist if there was no transition (as per 6.2).
But the stall rule (4.5) does not say that the 3 steps nose attitude adjustment is a transition, so I'm wondering if it is a pure vertical or not.
Here's how it works
1. MC is based on the start attitude - before nose adjustment due to stall. So if you are nose up, MC will be for climbing.
2. Nose is adjusted 3 steps - this is not a transition. There is no cost for doing this. It is not a transition as for post HH maneuvers or spin recovery because in those cases the airplane is flying. In this case the airplane is stalled. You cannot transition if you are stalled, the nose simply drops out from under you. You aren't controlling it.
3. Should the result of the nose sdjustment be vertical dive, all FPs will have to be VFPs, but this is not pure vertical FLIGHT - because the airplane is not flying...it is stalled. So no free HFP.
:-)
J.D.
(http://games.groups.yahoo.com/group/FW_Referee_Central/message/2080) 06/09/2012
A P-40C was caught by a turn stall on turn 10.
He had 3 FP, the turn stall lasted for 4 FP.
So on turn 11 he have one last FP to spend as a turn stall.
The pilot decides to cut the power to idle, his speed drops under the min flight speed. So his plane is now stalling.
What happens with the combination of an unfinished turn stall and a stall that suddenly happens ?
1) Does the stall happens immediately, cancelling the turn stall FP that was left to fly ?
2) Does thee turn stall FP is executed, and then the stall happens (the stall “waits” for the turn stall to be fully finished) ?
the stall takes precedence over the remaining turn stall.
JD
(https://groups.yahoo.com/neo/groups/FW_Referee_Central/conversations/messages/2633) 05/08/2014