A/C (Ju88A-4) with these gun arcs
DG1: (03) – 06, U+ to A/C.
DG2: 06 – (09), U+ to A/C.
VG: (04) – (08), A/C-100 to U–.
Is STD with 2 Tomahawks IIB in his 6 O'Clock horizontal arc 3 hexes away and 800 feet higher.
Are they in the Vertical Field of Fire of his defensive guns ?
At a range of 3, the ventral gun, which is normally A/C-100 to U–...
Becomes A/C-100+300 to 6– = +200 to 6–, so this covers to 600 above the Ju 88 at range 3
and the DG goes from U+ to A/C to U+ to 3+, so this covers from unlimited above down to 900 above at range 3.
So yes - they are in a vertical blind spot.
JD
(https://groups.yahoo.com/neo/groups/FW_NA_Battle_One/conversations/messages/2154) 12/02/2014
AC-1 to 3-
"AC-1" means AC alt - 0.1 inc at all ranges.
to
"3-" means AC alt -0.3 inc pre hex.
So, is this it then:
AC-1 to 3-
same hex: AC alt. (according to combat table p5)
hex1: near limit = AC alt -0.1 inc.
far limit = AC alt -0.3 inc.
hex2: near limit = AC alt -0.1 inc.
far limit = AC alt -0.6 inc
Thanks
Tracy
(https://groups.yahoo.com/neo/groups/FW_NA_Battle_One/conversations/messages/3366) 29/04/2015
Shooter:
3428 E, 4.3, 5.5+, RB, +1, STD
Target:
3428 E, 5.0, 6.5+, LB, +2, VD, 1NG
Original DG arc:
DG: 04 - 08, 6+ to 3- except 6:00 line is 6+ to A/C+1
Steep dive adjusts it to:
DG: 04 - 08, 11+ to 2+ except 6:00 line is 11+ to A/C+6
Combat Tables: Page 5 (v.3.5.4)
Vert. Field-of-Fire Codes
>9 = U ... and 600 at range "0"
As it stands, the RAW says the target is "out of arc" despite being almost
directly behind the shooter.
There's an argument that the vertical range also should be shifted 5 steps
(so instead of capping at Unlimited) it'd become 300 + 5x100 = 800 ft,
bringing the target within range (and I agree, this would be more logical).
I'll need a definitive ruling one way or the other, as my ruling (use RAW)
may seem biased as the target is my aircraft, and the shot would hit
bringing it to severely damaged status (competitive game, all VPs count).
I think you are interpreting the shift wrong. The target is valid based on what you've given me.
Target is 700 feet above shooter.
Two cases to consider
A. If target's facing does not match DG a/c facing, it is not on the DG shooter's six line.
B. If it does the target is on DG a/c's six line.
Case A
Original DG limits are 6+ to 3- per hex and 3+ to 2- at range 0.
In a steep dive, these become 11+ to 2+ per hex and 8+ to 3+ at range 0.
Since 700 falls between 8+ and 3+ it is a valid target.
Case B (target on shooter's six line.
Original DG limits are 6+ to AC+1 per hex and 3+ to AC+1 at range 0 (100 doesn't change).
In a steep dive these become 11+ to AC+6 per hex and 8+ to AC+6 at range 0.
Since 700 falls between 8+ and 6+ it is a valid target.
Thus the Rules As Written (RAW) do not invalidate the target.
The U+ notes don't apply as the DG's original arc limit is not U+.
JD
(https://groups.yahoo.com/neo/groups/FW_Referee_Central/conversations/messages/2967) 22/01/2016