I've just read the rule regarding defensive guns "Acquisition Time Restriction" in the v3 rules, and I would like your interpretation of this.
Acquisition Time Restriction: A/C using more HFPs than
VFPs in their move, which pass from any of a previously moved
enemy A/C's 60° wide deflection arcs to the opposite arc (e.g.
from the front arc (clock lines 11 to 01) to the rear arc (clock
lines 05 to 07), or left front arc (clock lines 09 to 11) to right rear
arc (clock lines 03 to 05), in a game turn, may not be fired on
by that A/C's defensive guns (the gunners cannot exchange
target information and turrets cannot traverse quick enough to
effectively engage such a target). Treat the border lines between
arcs as being part of either arc for this rule. Conversely, any A/C
benefiting from this rule, may not use its own defensive guns
against that same enemy.
I would interpret this as last turn, because all movement is, in reality, simultaneous. Last turn the Fws were front right arc of the B-17s, this turn they are rear left arc. Therefore, the B-17 gunners are unable to fire this turn
Thoughts please guys. For me, I would interpret "previously moved" as last turn's move, not the B-17s move (because they moved first) this turn, because the Fws were in the B-17s left rear arc after the B-17s move this turn. Am I making sense?? :-)
I would agree that the “previously moved” is intended to mean the move the last game turn. I think the intention is to compare the relative positions of the aircraft from the end of movement the previous turn with the relative positions of the aircraft at the end of movement in the current turn.
Rob R.
(https://groups.yahoo.com/neo/groups/FW_Referee_Central/conversations/messages/2729) 06/05/2015
I'll have to disagree with Rob.
I believe this refers to aircraft that have already moved in the current game turn, because that is what really regulates combat.
The intent of the rule is to limit the ability of defensive guns to fire at aircraft (in the current combat phase) if the target of the defensive guns has flown across the firing aircraft. Now, most of the time it will be the case that the aircraft with defensive guns (overwhelmingly bombers) will need to move before any other aircraft, so they will trivially satisfy the "already moved" part of the rule. It does not operate across game turn boundaries. That also makes the rule easier to implement, especially in a live table top setting.
So, what this means is that if, after the bombers move, the fighters move from one arc to the opposite arc, they are safe from attack from that bomber's guns.
It doesn't matter where the aircraft were at the end of the previous turn. It only matters where the moving aircraft was at the start and end of it's current turn's move, and only versus aircraft that have already moved.
So if at the end of the of the B-17s move, the FWs are in the left rear arc, they will only be "safe" if after the FW's move, they are in the right front arc.
If they stay in the left rear arc, by say turning quickly to stay there, they will be vulnerable. It would seem that in most such cases, the FWs will likely end up out of range anyway.
Now, this does lead to a strange situation if the FWs start right in front of the bombers, both flying in the same direction, where at the start and end of the game turn they are in the front arc, but because of the movement sequencing, the B-17s move in front of the fighters, who then later in the turn move back in front of the bombers. That meets the criteria of the acquisition time rule and is technically safe from defensive fire. But it would be rather rare for enemy fighters to fly in formation that way....
[There is also the issue that one of the top B17 gunner aces was a tail gunner who had mastered the art of shooting at aircraft passing by from a front attack. Although I think my source for this information is the game rules of "B-17: Queen of the Skies". A web search didn't find any confirmation of that.]
Tom Russ
(https://groups.yahoo.com/neo/groups/FW_Referee_Central/conversations/messages/2730) 06/05/2015
Tom Russ is correct in the designer's intents on all counts.
Only the current turn's moves matter. And this is for the playability reason Tom cites. Tom was there when we developed this rule.
Each game turn stands on its own in general in my rules. I don't want players struggling to remember who started where a game turn ago.
The conundrum he mentions hardly ever happens in play.
JD
(https://groups.yahoo.com/neo/groups/FW_Referee_Central/conversations/messages/2734) 06/05/2015