Per rule 14.9, a formation can remain engaged on the OMT (or TMG per 14.10) and not have to make an intercept attempt if the following apply:
1) The engaged formation consists of L, M, or H class A/C currently without an escort.
2) The attackers are of equal or higher agility and have just participated in combat against the engaged targets.
3) The attackers disengaged from combat into the same OMT altitude band and dot as the engaged targets.
However, if an enemy bomber formation manages to disengage at an earlier combat turn (in other words the doesn't disengage on the same combat turn as the enemy), does #3 still apply?
No. The attackers have to disengage from the A/C they want to stay in contact with. Meaning the targets must still be on the map. If the bombers disengaged before, the attackers lose track of them.
JD
(https://groups.io/g/FW-Ref-Central/message/3470) 13/04/2019