Question about the delayed EZ turn, though. As the turn requirement was already met (6/6), can it be “un-met” due to speed change?
If you carried it, then you chose not to finish it, and then it is subject to speed changes and can be "unmet" as you say, requiring more distance, as the determinant for the requirement is "current" game turn speed for unfinished turns.
JD
(Source unrecorded)
Do shot modifiers still apply to carried turns or maneuvers abandoned at the beginning of an a/c's movement?
Yes - carried means it is part of the existing turn - even if immediately abandoned on the first FP. The mod would still apply
JD
(https://groups.io/g/FW-Ref-Central/message/514) 23/02/2006
I seem to remember being said by JD that a turn could not be carried across multiple turns.
That is, if a turn was carried in next turn, then this turn had to be either finished or abandonned in the next turn.
Is this a valid ruling, and where is the rule saying this ?
The rule you are remembering is in WD and in the third edition full rules where my design intent is better clarified.
The idea is that a carried turn should be completed at the earliest possible time after sufficient FPs are extended although it may be extended into the next game turn. If the turn is not done by the game turn following the one the FPs were carried from, the turn has to be abandoned and restarted.
This explanation is not in the QS rules due to space limitations and simplification. By a strict reading of the QS rules, the move below is "legal" but not my general design intent and does not follow the full rules either.
In short, I don't want players to be able to carry a turn indefinitely, If started, a carried turn must be finished or abandoned on the AC's next move. It can be stretched out past the minimum requirements but no more than one turn past the start turn.
The idea is that indecision is penalized by imposing additional turn decel. To avoid facing the pilot would have to be starting and undoing a turn in progress as he flies and that should cost decel.
See WD rules 5.2, Carrying Turns. There it specifically says turns may be started in one turn and carried into the next. It does not say they can be carried indefinitely. The last line also says. Turn carry not used on the AC's next move is lost. The inference is Turn carry not used [to complete the facing change] on the A/C's next move is lost.
As for what to do as ref - probably let this one slide, but clarify how you would like to handle this in the future for the QS rules set.
JD
(https://groups.io/g/FW-Ref-Central/message/1417) 28/04/2011
I assume that this applies to turns that are extended past the minimum FPs required and not to an EZ or TT turn that can take more than a full move to complete.
Greg Boeser
No difference - however, more correct is:
You cannot extend any turn involving turn carry beyond the turn in which its requirements are finally met.
An extreme example in which it might take more than 2 turns to complete a turn would be an accelerating AC doing an EZ, say, one diving at speed 6, which requires 8 FPs for an EZ.
Turn 1, starts EZR on its last FP and carries 1EZL
Turn 2, speed is now 7 and EZ requirement is 10. It moves 7 and now has 8EZ carry. Note that the original EZ turn requirement is not yet complete.
Turn 3, speed is now 8 and EZ requirement is 12, It moves 4 hexes and could face (earliest) or it could extend the EZ to end of move (facing in 16/12) at latest. But on turn 3 the requirements are met and turn 3 involved turn carry from previous turns.
If the player decides he doesn't want to face on Turn 3 when the requirements are finally met, he would forfeit the EZ turn and the 8 carry from before. He could renew the EZ at the start of the turn and carry 8EZ into the next turn but he has to pay the EZ decel cost again.
JD
(https://groups.io/g/FW-Ref-Central/message/1420) 29/04/2011
I have revised the third edition text to this:
Carrying Turns: Turns may be started in one game turn and continued to the next. Note this in the "Turn Carry" line of the A/C's log. Turn carry is added to continued turning in the new game turn. The log code for turn carry is: FPs expended, turn rate and direction. For example: "2HTL" = A/C spent 2 FPs in a Hard Turn to the left. A carried turn not resulting in a facing on the game turn its FP requirements are finally met is forfeit. If a carried turn is abandoned or restarted, its prior turn carry is lost.
(https://groups.io/g/FW-Ref-Central/message/3224) 04/12/2018)