Can a gun be recharged on the turn it jams if the AC otherwise meets the conditions?
Suppose 2 soviet 7.62 ShKAS jam on the same shot (rule 10.1 and long burst), can the pilot attempt to recharge both guns in the same turn?
Recharging is an action taken during an aircraft's movement, based on meeting the flight limitations after the gun jammed.
Since jamming occurs as a result of combat, which is after movement is accomplished, your earliest opportunity to clear a gun jam is the next game turn's movement phase.
You can only clear one weapons group at a time.
J.D.
(https://fighting-wings-games.groups.io/g/main/message/17240) 21/04/2014
You can both shoot and try to recharge a gun group in the same combat round ?
You once wrote (in an answer to a question about recharging a gun just after it jammed) :
----------------------------------
Recharging is an action taken during an aircraft's movement, based on meeting the flight limitations after the gun jammed.
Since jamming occurs as a result of combat, which is after movement is accomplished, your earliest opportunity to clear a gun jam is the next game turn's movement phase.
You can only clear one weapons group at a time.
The important point of the rule, is that if you jam a gun in one turn's combat phase, that it will not be available in the next turn's combat phase, even if you are successful in clearing it during the next turn.Though combat is resolved at the end of a game turn after all movement, it is assumed to have occurred at some point during your movement. If you are clearing your gun during that movement, then it would not be available for combat that game turn.
JD
(https://fw-game-11.groups.io/g/main/message/8285) 26/08/2014
Yes, there is nothing that prevents shooting and attempting to recharge a gun in the same turn. However, while the attempt is declared with the move it is resolved at the end of turn after F6F #4’s shot is resolved.
Rob R.
(https://fw-game-11.groups.io/g/main/message/8284) 25/08/2014
Can jammed guns be recharged during a slip/skid.
There is nothing in the draft 3.5.4 rules that prevent recharging guns if a slip or skid is used. Only using BT+ Turn Rate, Negative G, Snap Rolls, Vertical and/or Inverted Flight prevents recharging guns that turn. Note even though a Skid may cause decel at a BT rate it is not a BT Rate Turn.
Rob R.
(https://fighting-wings-games.groups.io/g/main/message/19153) 27/01/2017