An A/C has transitioned from Shallow to steep last turn and has an unfinished turn. It cannot declare steep / vertical benefit the next turn, even if it stays in steep attitude.
In other words, a steep / vertical turn benefit has to be declared at the start of a turn, not in mid-turn, even when the turn starts inside the proper parameters (after transition, the A/C is considered to be in a steep attitude as per the Rule 6.3).
To be eligible for the reduced FP requirement, the turn has to begin and end while the A/C is in steep or vertical attitudes. Therefore the carried turn would not qualify for the reduction.
This is different from an FP reduction due to a speed change as this is geometry dependent and not speed dependent.
JD
(https://groups.io/g/FW-Ref-Central/message/2205) 11/12/2012
Can the turn with gravity carry (for example gHT) be combined with the Turns in Steep / Vertical Attitudes ?
Not sure the turn with gravity carry (for example gHT) can be combined with the Turns in Steep / Vertical Attitudes, since they are two different beasts, even though they each result in the -1 FP.
Wild Bill
(https://groups.io/g/FW-Ref-Central/message/2259) 02/03/2013
Different rules situation. Each must be complied with on its own merits
JD
(https://groups.io/g/FW-Ref-Central/message/2265) 08/03/2013