Leland J. Tankersley
(https://fw-game-03.groups.io/g/main/message/1452) 27/02/2012
I have a question related to flaps (full rules, 3rd edition playtest).
I have flaps extended to maneuver setting
I make an EZx1 push transition, Should I increase the decel cost of the transition of 1 decel (I already had the 1 decel cost of the flaps down) ?
As it is a push transition, I'm unsure the flaps increase its cost. What do you think ?
Do the flaps increase the decel for push transition and NG turns ?
While Slats don't help NG maneuvering, the penalty still applies for using the rate in all cases.
If mnvr. flaps are down, you always incur 1 decel whether you use a turn rate or not.
If you use any turn rate with flaps down, add +1 to decel for each 30 deg. of facing change, whether Pos G or NG.
J.D.
(https://groups.io/g/FW-Ref-Central/message/2065) 01/09/2012
Have an A/C with a start speed of 7.0 at the end of it's turn it's speed will be 5.0. The max flap speed for this A/C is 5.5. Can the A/C deploy Maneuver flaps this turn with out damageing them? It the speeds are reversed can the A/C retract them with out damageing them?
No and no. All limits are based on start speeds.
JD
(https://groups.io/g/FW-Ref-Central/message/2252) 03/02/2013
Ok I'm a little confused on the second half of the question. You stated no and no. But then say :All limits are based on start speed". I take that to mean with a start speed of 5.0 (Max Speed 5.5)and an end speed of 7.0 you could retract flaps with out damage or am I missunderstanding this?
Correct. If you start is 5.0 and end 7.0, there is no danger in retracting, since at the start of the following turn, your speed is 7.0 and the flaps are up, not in transit.
JD
(https://groups.io/g/FW-Ref-Central/message/2254) 03/02/2013
Instant combat flaps are either up or deployed in a game turn, they can't be both.
Instant combat flaps never have a turn of transition where their benefits are not applied but decel is.
Note - Using instant Combat flaps costs 1 decel per turn for being deployed, and their benefits also are applied the turn they are declared deployed which costs extra decel.
Instant retraction means they don't get the 1 decel for being in transit if, on a following turn they are declared "up", and if declared up, their benefits are not available at any point in the game turn they are retracted.
make sense?
JD
(https://groups.yahoo.com/neo/groups/FW_FR_TAPPER_1/conversations/messages/1244) 28/07/2016