June 2009

Congratulations to all for another wonderful night of Crash Test Drama in Sydney last night!

One of our biggest ever turnouts of actors and one of our biggest ever audiences (over 100!) saw 12 plays read by some of Sydney’s most exciting up and coming writers.
The big audience meant big cash prizes with the overall winning play chosen by the audience on the night taking away $610! And the Runner-Up play $305.
It was a great night and a wonderful farewell to Short+Sweet and Crash Test Drama actor, writer, director and all round good guy Glynn Oram who is sadly going back to England in three weeks.
Now to the awards:
Judge’s Choice
(Thanks as always to our wonderful judge Alan Walpole and his co-Judge for the night – Peter Greenway).
Best Play (Qualifies for July Final of Crash Test Drama Sydney on July 20th)
Fleur Beaupert
Directed by Craig Delahoy
Performed by Eliza St John, Amanda Lee and Matt Thomson
Best Actress
Amanda Lee
in Starwoman
Best Actress Runner-Up
Christine Greenough
in Erlkonig
Best Actor
Gavin Williams
in Play (with) Misty for Me
Best Actor Runner-Up
Matt Thomson
in Starwoman

Playwright’s Encouragement Prize
Actoooooors Prepare
by Nastassja Djalog
Audience Choice
(Lots of plays unfortunately suffered time penalties this month – so remember – make sure your play is under ten minutes).
Winner ($610) (Qualifies for July Final of Crash Test Drama Sydney on July 20th)
Elizabeth Ban
Directed by Uma Kali-Shakti
Performed by Christine Greenough, Charles Freyberg and Lisa Peers
Runner-Up – A Tie ($305)
What could have been
Felix Carlyle
Directed by Liane Norman
Sian Taylor
Directed by Glynn Oram
Congratulations to Erlkonig (People’s Choice) and Starwoman (Judge’s Choice) that will now go through to our first final of Crash Test Drama Sydney 2009 in July.
Our full line up for the First final of Crash Test Drama Sydney on Monday July 20th is now confirmed:
Imperfect by Charlie Dean, Directed by Anne Delaney (Judge’s Choice – March)
Johnny doesn’t live here anymore by Gunter Swoboda, Directed by Liane Norman (People’s Choice – March)
A day in the life of death written and directed by Nir Shelter (People’s Choice - April)
Catastrophe written and directed by Dona Garofali Parise (Judge’s Choice - April)
Remorse Code by Graham Yates, Directed by Craig Delahoy (People’s Choice – May)
Brian, I don’t love you anymore by Matt Orchard, Directed by Liam Burgess, (Judge’s Choice – May)
Erlkonig by Elizabeth Ban, Directed by Uma Kali-Shakti (People’s Choice – June)
Starwoman by Fleur Beaupert, directed by Craig Delahoy (Judge’s Choice – June)
Two plays from the July Final will be selected to go through directly to Short+Sweet Sydney 2010!
Thanks again to all our writers, directors and actors and congratulations again on another wonderful edition of Crash Test Drama Sydney. See you on July 13th.