December 2016 FINALS

12/12/16. The Crash Test Drama 2016 Season Two FINALS were held on Monday in front of a packed house at The Depot Theatre. It was a fantastic way to bring the year of Crash Test home.

Kicking off the FINALS was Bob Ballinger's "Get A Life", which was directed by Michal Weiss. It starred Josh Chicharo as Bill and Michael Smith as Phil. Congrats to Bob for making it to the Finals a number of times over the last few years.

Second was Paulene Turner's "Meet The Supers". Isaac Owen directed George O'Keefe, Brandon Lacey, Luke Thornley and Meili Bookluck. Well done to the team for a tight and enjoyable show.

Third was "But For The Grace Of God", written by Terry Bourke and directed by Uma Kali Shakti. It starred Mark Fowler as the guard and Best Actor Runner Up Andrew Wang as the prisoner.

Fourth was the clear Popular Vote Winner, "The Wee Small Hours", written by Leonie Jordan. Margaret Fitzgerald directed Best Actor Winner Rob White and Best Actress Winner Pauline Gardner. With Margaret winning Best Director as well, this play well and truly cleaned up in the awards. It won a spot in the Top 80 of Short+Sweet Sydney 2017.

In fifth place was "The Minutes On A Train Platform" by Felix Carlyle. Margaret Fitzgerald directed her second play for the evening, with Alice Furze as the woman and Isaac Owen as the man. Isaac actually participated in the Finals as a writer, director and actor, which has only been done by one participant in the past: none other than Isaac Owen!

The sixth play was "Heat Visions", a very original monologue written by Playwright's Encouragement Award recipient Nick Subjak. Pete Greenaway directed Alice Furze, who was performing her second play in a row.

Seventh was the play Isaac Owen wrote: "Forgotten". Ruth Fingret directed an ensemble of Uma Kali Shakti, Kaitlin de Lacy, Anne Simpson, Ray Coyne and Colleen Henry. Not only was "Forgotten" the Popular Vote Runner Up, it won the Judge's Choice for Best Play and will join "The Wee Small Hours" in the Top 80 of Short+Sweet Sydney 2017.

And finally, to finish off the show we had "The Game" by Karen Granger. Clare langsford, Alan Long and Davo Hardy were directed by Ann Elbourne. A tightly put together production.

The Results

Our judge for the night was Short+Sweet's new Festival Director, Wayne Tunks.

Best Actor: Rob White

Best Actress: Pauline Gardner

Best Actor Runner Up: Andrew Wang

Best Actress Runner Up: Uma Kali Shakti

Best Director: Margaret Fitzgerald

Best Play: "Forgotten"

Popular Vote Winner: "The Wee Small Hours"

Popular Vote Runner Up: “Forgotten”

Playwright’s Encouragement Award: Nick Subjak for “Heat Visions”

Depot Drumstick Award: Isaac Owen

Congrats to "The Wee Small Hours" and "Forgotten" for winning a place in the Top 80 of Short+Sweet 2017.

That's it for Crash Test for another year. We'll see you back in 2017. Come along to Short+Sweet in the meantime!