The Duke of Edinburgh Award

What is the Duke of Edinburgh Award?

The DofE is:

· The world’s leading achievement award for young people

· A balanced programme of activities to develop the mind, body, soul in an environment of social interaction and team working

·For young people who want to live life as adventure

· Supported by a dedicated team of adults who are absolutely critical to its success


The Duke of Edinburgh is a prestigious Award, highly rated by both employers and universities. Participants can be anyone aged between 14 and 24. There are 3 progressive levels: Bronze, Silver and Gold. The award requires participants to complete 4 sections: Skill, Volunteering, Physical and Expedition, all of which develop important skills in our young people which are required for success in the work place. Pupils fully develop themselves in all 4 capacities of the Curriculum for Excellence framework: Volunteering encourages Responsible Citizens; the Skills section promotes Successful Learners; and the Expedition section ensures we have Effective contributors as well and Confident Individuals. An additional residential section is required to be completed at Gold.

Bronze Level Information

Silver Level Information:

Gold Level Information

Staff Names and Roles

Award Coordinator: Mr John O’Reilly

Award Leaders: Mrs Sheila Dalziel, Mis Kelly McGarvey, Mr Alex McKendrick and Miss Fiona Park

The Duke of Edinburgh Award and the John Muir Award:

The John Muir Award (JMA) is an environmental award scheme that encourages pupils to connect with, enjoy and care for wild places. Taking part in the JMA develops an understanding of, and responsibility for, a chosen wild place or places. As the expedition section of the DofE involves adventure in wild places, here at OLSP we ensure that the John Muir Award blends really nicely with the Expedition, adding quality practice to our outdoor experiences.

Four challenges are at the heart of each John Muir Award. Each participant must discover a wild place, explore its wildness, conserve by taking personal responsibility and share their experiences with others. There are three levels to the Award, encouraging progressive involvement.

The John Muir Award also offers an ideal structure for contributing to the requirements of Curriculum for Excellence.

OLSP DofE and the Saltire Award

Saltire Awards are the new Scottish awards designed to formally recognise the commitment and contribution of youth volunteering. Supported by the Scottish Government, the Saltire Awards enable young volunteers to record the skills, experience and learning gained through successful volunteering placements in school or provided by local and national voluntary agencies. When volunteering, OLSP DofE pupils gain the Saltire Award.

A Sneak Peak into Our Work