Judging & Nomination Processes

Judging Process

Each of the ten awards categories is judged by a separate panel of three judges, all of whom are chosen by the Computerworld Honors Program on the basis of their having achieved the highest level of distinction in that field. Panels regularly include present and former government officials, CEOs, college presidents and deans, doctors, scientific researchers, journal editors, media producers, and celebrated artists.

Nomination Process

Nominations for the Computerworld Honors Awards are made by the 100 Chairmen and CEO's of the worlds leading Information Technology companies. These leaders nominate information technology applications that are, in their view, the year's very best examples of technological innovation. Selected for their positive impact on society, all nominations become part of the Smithsonian's National Museum of American History's Permanent Research Collection. 

Once these nominees have submitted materials that meet the requirements of the program, they become Computerworld Honors Laureates, and in turn, Candidates for the annual Computerworld Honors. 

Members of the Chairmen's Committee appoint a special Director to the Search Committee of the Computerworld Honors Progam whose primary task is to ensure that each year's class of Laureates reflects the breadth and depth of each company represented on the chairman's nominating committee.

| Back to Smithsonian Home Page |

Return To Carol LaRow Homepage