A character can attempt to do more than one thing at a time. However, a character still only gets the one roll of the base dice to divide among the various actions.
The results are determined in order by highest total for each individual task – so long as that makes sense. Remember, the highest number describes first. If a character charges a foe with a broadsword, but the broadsword roll is higher than the move roll, it is OK to say that the move takes place on the broadsword roll, and then the broadsword attack takes place on the move roll. See Rule 5A. The combat results of the broadsword attack, though, would still be determined by the broadsword’s original total and vice-versa.