Raroo Review Index

Links to Reviews/Contributions for Gamesugar 

Original Post Date: February 13, 2013
Excerpt: The Etrian Odyssey series is not for everyone, and I’m sure there are plenty of individuals who would find it boring and unappealing, but I think it is absolutely amazing. If you can put in the time needed to truly appreciate any of the Etrian Odyssey games, I’m confident you’ll discover them to be satisfying and addicting.

Original Post Date: November 15, 2012
Excerpt: My minor complaints aside, Magical Drop V is a heck of a lot of fun to play, and that’s what matters most of all. The development team nailed the tight control and frantic speed that made the original games so special. The inclusion of Ghostlop is an unexpected treat, too, and that alone makes the game worth checking out for fans of the series.

Original Post Date: November 4, 2011
Excerpt: 

Obviously, the development team has a reverence and respect for classic horizontal shooters, and their attention to detail shows in every conceivable aspect of the game. You’ll need to bring your skills to the table and be willing to put in the time needed to study and master each stage, but if you’re up for the challenge, you’re in for quite the treat.


Original Post Date: October 18, 2011
Excerpt: Okabu is at times too much of a good thing, so playing the game in moderation is to its benefit. But even if the vacation lasts a little too long at times, a trip to Okabu's world is one that players will find well worth taking, and it might even remind them to give a hoot and not pollute.

Original Post Date: October 14, 2011
Excerpt: If only Nox’s controls were slightly tighter and the development team had dared to color a little further outside the lines, Sideway: New York could have been an all-time classic.  As it stands, it’s still an extremely solid platformer that is dripping with style and heart. And, best of all, you won’t need to have a bottle of aspirin at the ready to enjoy the game!

Original Post Date: September 29, 2011
Excerpt: In my opinion, Kirby Mass Attack is an absolute masterpiece. Just as Canvas Curse served as the Nintendo DS's ideal kickstarter, Mass Attack is the ultimate swansong. The game is practically perfect in every respect, and therefore deserves a score that echoes the number of Kirbys in the game. 

Original Post Date: September 25, 2011
Excerpt: Most gamers probably wouldn't appreciate a game like Hitogata Happa, anyway. There's definitely a reason it backs you up against a brick wall from the start. learn to play it properly or GTFO. That is, if you can't be troubled to figure out how to play the game, it's not right for you. But for the small percentage of us who make our way into Hitogata Happa's inner circle, it's like being indoctrinate dnito one of gaming's coolest secret societies.

Original Post Date: July 5, 2011
Excerpt: I wonder how many people will approach HMH expecting it to be a typical JRPG and be disappointed or confused? Hopefully not many, because HMH is awesome. Even though the game resembles an RPG and imaginatively incorporates the genre's best elements, there's really nothing else quite like it. It's witty, charismatic, comical, challenging, and highly replayable, And I can safely say its speedy pace won't end up spoiling other RPGs for you, either!

Original Post Date: June 9, 2011
Excerpt: Even though I played through the demo a couple of times, I’m still scratching my head as to just what I was supposed to be doing. I think that’s a good thing though, making Picture Lives! one of the most curious games I’ve come across during my time at E3. The fact that it stood out so much from the pack says quite a bit, in my opinion, and makes me confident that this is one to keep an eye (or three!) on.
 
Original Post Date: June 8, 2011
Excerpt: Oh, and be warned: Otomedius has breasts. Anime breasts. That might turn people away, and I heard more than a few E3 attendees snickering at the boobies. Now, you won’t see bare breasts or anything (unless you input the Konami code – I’m kidding!), so don’t worry if you’re allergic to such a thing, but even I have to admit it’s a little ridiculous at times. I don’t know if I’d feel that comfortable playing Otomedius in front of my wife! But from a wacky art direction standpoint, it works for the game.
 
Original Post Date: June 8, 2011
Excerpt: If you’re the type of person who cries yourself to sleep every night because you miss Data East’s classic games, dry those tears! Out of nowhere, Magical Drop V has appeared at E3, and it is so bright and cute it almost hurts your eyes.
 
Original Post Date: June 8, 2011
Excerpt: Admittedly, I’m not the target audience for a game like this, so take my impressions with a grain of salt. But, in the end, I have a feeling ORC will be hitting bargain bins within six months of its release. It just doesn’t have anything other than the Resident Evil name to give it an edge over the big boys of the genre.
 
Original Post Date: June 8, 2011
Excerpt: People who like Q Games’ other releases are probably already excited for PixelJunk SideScroller, but hopefully this game draws in new fans as well. It’s arguably the most accessible, straightforward game in the studio’s PixelJunk series, and I think it’s all the better for it.
 
Original Post Date: March 9, 2011
Excerpt: Phantom Brave: The Hermuda Triangle proves that sometimes giving players freedom isn’t always such a good thing, as the depth of the game and variety of options is almost too much to wrangle. At the same time, it’s a deep game and offers hours upon hours of gamplay, so strategy RPG fanatics will likely enjoy it.
 
Original Post Date: March 7, 2011
Excerpt: I can appreciate many aspects of PixelJunk Shooter 2, and it made me feel a sense of accomplishment at every bit of progress I made, but in the end I can’t truthfully that say I enjoyed it.
 
Original Post Date: February 28, 2011
Excerpt: If you’re like me and can’t get enough of colorful, cheery games with hyperactive twitch gameplay (because, you know, there are just so many of them these days!), don’t hesitate to drop $6 on Suguri X. Just be sure to invite a buddy over to play with you – and don’t forget to blink!
 
Original Post Date: January 3, 2011
Excerpt: Despite the shortcomings though, Sonic Colors isn’t a complete misstep, and I hope Sega continues to refine the formula they’ve come up with here. Just like Mario, Sonic seems to excel in a space setting, and it allows for some amazingly imaginative level designs, unlike anything in the series’ previous titles.
 
Original Post Date: December 26, 2010
Excerpt: What Ys does best is get to the point, something many JRPGs seem to have forgotten how to do. The opening cinema is mercifully short, and before long you take control of fiery-haired Adol, an adventurer who has come to the land of Felghana with his companion Dogi. It only takes a few minutes of game time before you're slashing enemies and embarking upon your first quest. Ys: The Oath in Felghana definitely puts the "action" into Action-RPG.
 
Original Post Date: December 21, 2010
Excerpt: 999 not only provides a gripping and rewarding experience, but demonstrates that there is still a great deal of room for creativity and artistic expression when it comes to storytelling via videogames.


Links to Reviews for Gaslampball.com
 
Original Post Date: March 30, 2008
Excerpt: MLB Power Pros remains my choice as the best recommendation for baseball fans, but MLB 08: The Show is not to be overlooked.  And, for beer-spilling fans who like to boo the opposing team, chances are it’s a better choice for them, anyway!  In the end, gamers can do much worse than MLB 08: The Show, and it certainly proves itself to be worthy of a purchase.
 
Original Post Date: August 21, 2008
Excerpt: I haven’t particularly cared too much for baseball video games in recent years because nothing has matched the fun of the baseball games I enjoyed during my youth. However, that has all changed now that Konami and 2K Sports have seen fit to bring what is arguably the best baseball series ever over to the U.S. MLB Power Pros 2008 is a definite winner that is highly recommended and worthy of being in any player’s video game collection.
 
Original Post Date: September 9, 2008
Excerpt: Backyard Baseball ’09 will no doubt appeal to young children, especially kids that haven’t learned to be choosey about the types of games they play, but with better options available to consumers at comparable prices, why subject your kids to playing an inferior game? 


Links to Reviews for Sector: Neo Geo Pocket
 
Excerpt: Face it, we all want to know what lies ahead of us on the road of life. That is why horoscopes are so popular. Thankfully, in the end, there is no reason to waste money on expensive phone calls to "The Psychic Network." There's not even any reason to open your newspaper or magazine to check. Just turn on your NGPC and let it work its horoscope magic for you.
 
Excerpt: I'm at a loss for words. With games such as this out for the NGPC, it's a shame that the system didn't take off. Even compared to the best of the Gameboy Advance's games, Metal Slug 2nd Mission still holds its own. If you don't own this game, shame on you. May you be struck down by the storming winds of the video game gods.
 
Excerpt: I enjoy this game. I've had it for a long time now and still throw it on from time to time for some fun. It's not the best NGPC fighter (that honor is still held by MotM, with Gals Fighters and Last Blade both being a close second) and it's especially not what NGPC fans were hoping for, but it's a worthy purchase all the same.
 
Excerpt: So, to summarize, there's so much replay in this, you will not get tired of it for months, or even years... if then. I still love it and can imagine being in the old folks' home, NGPC in tow, playing SNK vs. Capcom and muttering "The kids today just don't understand what good games are..." to myself.
 
Excerpt: I adore Gals Fighters. It's got a special place in my heart. In fact, shhhh, don't tell anyone, but it might be my favorite fighting game on the NGPC. But don't say that too loud, for we don't want to hurt MotM's feelings. :)
Comments