Major Cities


In Panama they follow a practice called personalismo which means the primary loyalty is to a strong leader. There are three parts of the Government in Panama. Panama elects a new President every 5 years. Panama has many laws for people's rights.

A Panama dollar is called Balboa. A U.S. dollar is equal to a Balboa. They named the Balboa dollar after the explorer Vasco Núñez de Balboa

Panama City

Panama City is the capital of Panama. It is located 8 degrees North and 80 degrees West, and it is in Central America. The location of Panama City is important because it is near the Panama Canal. The Panama Canal is known all over the world, because ships that need to get things to California do not have to go all the way around South America. They can just go through the Panama Canal. It is much faster. It connects the Atlantic Ocean to the Pacific Ocean.

Major Cities

There are other larger cities in Panama like Balboa, located in the Pacific entrance of the Panama Canal. Another is Santiago.

La Palma is another city. The population of La Palma was 4,205 in 2010.

José de David is another city. It is the capital of Chiriquí Province in western Panama. The area of David is 25.83 square miles. The population of David was 144,858 in 2013.

Another city is Puerto Armuelles.