Exam Results & Inspection

Dear Students & Parents/Carers,

OfSTED Inspection of Bexleyheath Academy, July 2021

I am writing with regards to the OfSTED Inspection that took place at Bexleyheath Academy on 06 and 07 July 2021. The inspection report has been released to the Academy and will be published on the OfSTED website later this week.

In the report, inspectors have summarised the improvements at Bexleyheath Academy and made key judgements about how the Academy is performing. I am incredibly proud of the commitment from students at the Academy, and for your support as parents/carers. You have supported the Academy over the last two year, and many of you have told me how much you have seen the school improve. Your views are incredibly important to us, and I always appreciate you taking the time to get in touch.

I am pleased to inform you that OfSTED have confirmed that special measures have been removed from Bexleyheath Academy.

When inspectors visited Bexleyheath Academy in July 2021, they said that the way in which pupils work in school has been “transformed”, and that “there is a positive atmosphere in classes and around the school”. Inspectors also said that the school “has completely changed” and have confirmed in their report that Bexleyheath Academy is officially a good school.

Inspectors commented that the team at the Academy “set students consistently high standards” and that pupils are “polite, friendly and considerate”. They said that the students “actively demonstrate the school value ‘be big-hearted’.” Inspectors also confirmed that “Pupils make strong progress in their subjects, particularly English and Mathematics.”

I offer you, the parents and carers of our students, a huge amount of thanks for all you have done to support me and the team at the Academy. You trusted us to ensure that Bexleyheath Academy improved, and I hope that you will share a sense of pride in what has been achieved.

In addition to the incredibly positive report from inspectors, we have seen record enrolments to our Sixth Form, with an increase of almost 90% compared with the same time last year. Similarly, we have seen a large number of students applying to join the Academy in other year groups. It is clear that the reputation of the Academy is changing.

This is an incredibly exciting time at Bexleyheath Academy, and I look forward to working with you over the coming Academic year.

Should you have any questions at all, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Regards
Graeme Napier

Key Inspection Information:

  • Inspection dates: 6–7 July 2021

  • Overall effectiveness: Good

  • The quality of education: Good

  • Behaviour and attitudes: Good

  • Personal development: Good

  • Leadership and management: Good

  • Sixth-form provision: Good

Key quotes from the Inspection Report:

  • The school has changed completely

  • School leaders are much more serious about learning now. Adults set students consistently high standards

  • There is a “positive atmosphere in classes and around the school”. Lessons are hardly ever disrupted

  • Pupils are polite, friendly and considerate. They actively demonstrate the school value ‘be big-hearted’.

  • Pupils who have arrived from other schools settle well, and say it is easy to make friends.

  • Pupils make strong progress in their subjects, particularly English and mathematics.

  • Parents and carers praise the changes leaders have made

  • The way in which pupils work in school has been “transformed”

Key Links:

Examination Results and Student Outcomes

Student Outcomes at Key Stage 4 (2021)

74% of students at Bexleyheath Academy achieved Grade 4+ in both GCSE English and GCSE Mathematics

48% of students at Bexleyheath Academy achieved Grade 5+ in both GCSE English and GCSE Mathematics

The Progress 8 measure at Bexleyheath Academy is likely to be in the region of 0.29. This is an internal calculated based on the most recent comparative published data available.

Student Outcomes at Key Stage 5 (2021)

The average point score (APS) of students following Academic programmes is 42.66. The average grade on Academic programmes is B+.

The average point score (APS) of students following Vocational & Technical programmes is 37.14. The average grade on Vocational & Technical programmes is Distinction+.

Inspection Reports and Correspondence

Inspection of Bexleyheath Academy (06 - 07 July 2021)
Principal - Mr G Napier
Inspection Report

Monitoring Inspection (03 - 04 February 2021)
Principal - Mr G Napier
Summary Report

Correspondence from Regional Schools Commissioner (Jan 2021)
Principal - Mr G Napier
Letter to the CEO of Academies Enterprise Trust

Monitoring Inspection (26–27 November 2019)
Principal - Mr G Napier
Summary Report

Monitoring Inspection (24-25 April 2019)
Principal - Mr D Steel
Summary Report

Full Inspection (28–29 November 2018)
Principal - Mr D Steel
Inspection Report

"The school has changed completely"

There is a “positive atmosphere in classes and around the school”. Lessons are hardly ever disrupted

Pupils are polite, friendly and considerate. They actively demonstrate the school value ‘be big-hearted’.

OfSTED, Inspection July 2021

"Leaders’ have transformed the learning environment of the academy"

"There is a calm and mature learning environment in classrooms"

OfSTED, Monitoring Inspection November 2019