Race Committee Duty

Lake Mohawk Skippers & Crew,

The  2018 racing season is fast upon us and it we are hoping for a great year for sailing.  

Please note the attached 2018 LMYC Racing Schedule and RC assignments for the impending season.   I have endeavored to respect scheduling conflicts that have been communicated to me prior to compiling the schedule.    Please review the schedule and if there are any major conflicts that preclude your availability on the assigned date, please attempt to arrange an exchange with another skipper and communicate any changes to me either in writing , or by voicemail.   If unsuccessful in arranging an exchange, or if there is a definitive reason that you cannot perform your RC duty on the prescribed dates, please communicate same to me at the earliest opportunity.

On behalf of LMYC, I thank you all, in advance, for your commitment and support to our club in contributing to a successful 2018 LMYC racing season.  

Fair weather, favorable winds and the best of luck this year.

Race Committee Chair (name/phone) 

Please refer to the Duty Roster posted on the bulletin board for the latest version of this schedule.

See Racing Instructions and Racing Instructions - Signals for details of the duties of the Race Committee and how races are to be conducted


Serving as a Race Official is a duty and responsibility of all sailing members.  If you cannot serve your assigned date, you MUST find someone to switch with, or cover the date. 

All changes must be approved by the Race Committee Chairman (name/phone)

                                SPRING SERIES

DATES                     RACE OFFICIALS                                                    EVENT

May 20                   tbn

May 27                   P. Anderson/ M. Anderson

Jun 03                    J. Miller                                                                      Gabor Cup Regatta   (Lightning Fleet)

Jun 10                    R. Miner / G. Miner

Jun 17                    C. Gill / A. Hopkins

Jun 24                    H. Jelinek / M. Marussich

Jul 01                      B. Cherry

Jul 8                         tbn                                                                   Marine Base Regatta   (Snipe Fleet)

Jul 15                      T. Mackey / C. Mackey

Jul 22                      D. Okner

Jul 29                      J. Fleming

                                                                FALL SERIES

Aug 05                   R. Miner / G. Miner

Aug 12                   B. Cherry

Aug 19                   T. Mackey / C. Mackey

Aug 26                   C. Gill / A. Hopkins 

Sep 02                    J. Miller                                                                  Commodore's Cup   (Sunfish Fleet)

Sep 09                    P. Anderson/ M. Anderson

Sep 16                    H. Jelinek/M. Marussich

Sep 23                    J. Fleming

Sep 30                    D. Okner

Oct 07                    Reassigned or tbn

Oct 14                    Reassigned or B. Cherry

Oct 21                    Reassigned or J. Fleming

The Race Official's duties include:

  • Consult with the Race Committee on the proper course(s) for the day.
  • Setting the course buoys in time for a 1:00 pm start, and start on time.
  • Hold Skipper's Meeting, as required, to explain course(s) for the day.
  • Conduct the races according to ISAF regulations, except where amended by LMYC rules.
  • Score each contestant and record results in Race Committee Book.
  • Chair the committee to resolve any protest after the races.
  • Return equipment to storage areas, refueling and covering the RC Boat.
  • Remove garbage, cleaning up, securing hoists and locking up.


  • Race officials, from days when racing is canceled, will be reassigned as needed.
  • All schedule changes must be cleared with the RC Chair, (name/phone)
  • Racing starts promptly at 1:00 pm unless official postponements are necessary.
  • Regattas are sailed during regular racing but scored separately.
  • The Race Committee is composed of the RC Chair and the Fleet Captains.