3.3 The Gimme Stroke

HGA Local Rule 3.3 The Gimme Stroke: A Gimme stroke may be given to an opponent during selected HGA Tournaments. Unlike the Gimme Putt where the HGA places strict rules on length of Gimmie given, the Gimme Stroke is allowed to be given from anywhere with the addition of 1 stroke. The player receiving the Gimme Stroke may

  1. Accept the gimme and add 1 stroke to his score for the hole
  2. Decline the gimme and continue the hole up to double par.

Rule 3.3 is only employed in Tournaments specifically stated by the HGA. Typically the Gimme Stroke is allowed in match play and given when a player or partners will lose a hole even when the gimmie is given.