Term Dates and Term Time Holiday Requests

HOLIDAYS DURING TERM TIME

Can we please remind parents of the legal position regarding term time holidays. The Department for Education states that children MUST attend school and there is no legal proviso for term time holidays. At Newington Academy we try to be flexible when parents have no option but to take a child out of school during term time however evidence for the necessity of this holiday will be required. This evidence may take the form of a letter from a parents employer stating that holidays cannot be taken during the school holiday period. All holiday requests MUST be received by the school office a minimum of 7 days before the holiday start date.

If your child has a school attendance record of over 95% and the holiday is for 10 school days or less the school has the option of agreeing the request. If your child has a poor school attendance history, or the holiday is in excess of 10 school days, then the application may be declined.

If a declined holiday is still taken, or if no application is made, the school has the option to request that Hull City Council issue a fixed penalty fine which starts at £60 and increases to £120 if not paid within 42 days.

NEWINGTON ACADEMY TERM DATES

2018-2019

These dates include all closures for staff training days.

AUTUMN TERM 2018

Re-open - Wednesday 5th September

Close - Friday 26th October at 3pm

Re-open - Monday 5th November

Close - Friday 21st December at 3pm


SPRING TERM 2019

Re-open - Tuesday 8th January

Close - Friday 15th February at 3pm

Re-open - Monday 25th February

Close - Friday 5th April at 3pm


SUMMER TERM 2019

Re-open - Tuesday 23rd April

Close - Friday 24th May at 3pm

Re-open - Monday 3rd June

Close - Friday 19th July at 3pm

NEWINGTON ACADEMY TERM DATES

2019-2020

These dates include all closures for staff training days.

AUTUMN TERM 2019

Re-open - Wednesday 4th September

Close - Friday 25th October at 3pm

Re-open - Monday 4th November

Close - Friday 20th December at 3pm


SPRING TERM 2020

Re-open - Tuesday 7th January

Close - Friday 14th February at 3pm

Re-open - Monday 24th February

Close - Friday 3rd April at 3pm


SUMMER TERM 2020

Re-open - Tuesday 21st April

Close - Friday 22nd May at 3pm

Re-open - Monday 1st June

Close - Friday 17th July at 3pm