Term Dates and Term Time Holiday Requests

HOLIDAYS DURING TERM TIME

The Department for Education states that children MUST attend school and there is no legal proviso for term time holidays. At Newington Academy we try to be flexible when parents have no option but to take a child out of school during term time however evidence for the necessity of this holiday will be required. This evidence may take the form of a letter from a parents employer stating that holidays cannot be taken during the school holiday period. All holiday requests MUST be received by the school office a minimum of 7 days before the holiday start date.

If your child has a school attendance record of over 95% and the holiday is for 10 school sessions (5 days) or less the school has the option of agreeing to the request on the condition that the application is made in line with the definition for exceptional cirucmstances. If your child has a poor school attendance history, or the holiday is in excess of 10 school sessions (5 days), then the application will be declined. All parents requesting a term time holiday will be asked to meet with the head teacher, Mrs Leighton, to discuss their request.

Examples of exceptional circumstances include;

-Service Personnel and other employees who are prevented from taking holidays outside term-time

-Acute crisis within the family, where the family needs to spend time together to support each other

-Court order/formal agreement where parents have separated

If a declined holiday is still taken, or if no application is made, parents will be subject to a Penalty Notice of £60 per child, per family member from Hull City Council.

NEWINGTON ACADEMY TERM DATES

2021 - 2022

These dates include all closures for staff training days.

AUTUMN TERM 2021

Re-open - Wednesday 8th September 8.40am - All children

Close Friday 22nd October 3pm

Re-open - Monday 1st November 8.40am

Close - Friday 17th December at 3pm


SPRING TERM 2022

Re-open - Wednesday 5th January 2022

Close - Friday 17th February at 3pm

Re-open - Monday 28th February 2022

Close - Friday 8th April at 3pm


SUMMER TERM 2022

Re-open - Monday 25th April 2022

Closed Monday 2nd May 2022 May Bank Holiday

Close - Friday 27th May at 3pm

Re-open - Monday 6th June

Close for the Summer Friday 22nd July 2022 July at 3pm