The Summer Honors Program 

Creative Writing Anthology

Creative Writing Class

The Class


Each summer since 1977 as part of ESU 11’s Summer Honors Program, twelve students and one insane writer, have gathered together to learn more about creative writing. 



The Anthologies

 Each year the students have created an anthology of original work made up of their poems, short stories, personal essays, and stage and screen scripts.  In 2009, the creative writing class partnered with the Art Class to include original art in the print anthology.  In 2015, the creative writing class moved the anthology from print format to this online site.   




The Gnome


Since 2004, the creative writing class has been tasked with protecting the gnome, Yukon Cornelius Albus Dumbledore.  Over the years, the gnome has been broken and glued dozens of times, and every other year, the gnome is stolen by another class, and each year Yukon finds his way back. 

The Gnome Keepers:

McCartney Elliott:   2021-present

Hope Anderson:       2020-2021

Sara Lundeen:          2019-2020

Abby Waldo:            2018-2019

Jade Gonzalez:         2017-2018

Abby Waldo:            2016-2017

Cora Welton:            2015-2016

Monica Bell:            2014-2015

Faith Aberle:            2013-2014

Bailey Williams:      2011-2013

Devin Koch:             2010-2011

Kyle Chesterman:     2009-2010

Brianne Keller:         2008-2009

Brettany Wilson:       2007-2008

Laura McAtee:          2006-2007

Mikah Tacha:            2004-2006

The Creative Writing Instructors:   

Tyler Jacobs:               2020-present

Gina Keplinger:          2019-2022

Gary Dop:                   2009-2018

Matt Mason:                2002-2008 

Ron Block:                  1998-2001

Neil Harrison:             1997

Ellen Kester:               1995-1996

Gary Eller:                  1994

Bart Sutter:                  1993

Nancy McCleery:        1988

Bill Holm:                   1985

Billie Jean James:        1981-1992

Jim Heynen:                1980-1987

Sara Edwards:             1978-1979