The History of Radio Aire through the years....
Since its launch on 1st September 1981, Radio Aire has seen many changes,
with numerous identities, presenters, logos and jingle packages.

Radio Aire Archive takes you through the years, with audio and images
of West Yorkshire's most well known radio station.

Click on the links below the logos to view the specific eras.

 Presenters from this era were Graham Thornton, Eric Smith,
Alex Lester, Barrie Redfern, Martin Kelner, Mike Hurley, Bob Preedy,
John Brown, Mike Alexander, Dave Silver, Dave Burland and Maggie Mash.

Presenters from this era were Peter Tait, Paul Fairburn,
Peter Levy, Tony Blewitt, Ross Dickinson, Ray Stroud,
James Whale, Bob Preedy and Maggie Mash.

Presenters from this era were Ross Dickinson, Jon Hammond,
Ray Stroud, Peter Tait, Carl Kingston, James Whale, Paul Stead,
Mickey Laing, Bob Preedy, Adrian Greene, Keri Jones, Barry Glanville,
Duncan Larkin, Gary Rogers, Andy Siddell, Steve Warren and Mikey Dreadlocks.

 Presenters from this era were Richard James, Ross Dickinson,
Kenny Stevens, Carl Kingston, Andy Siddell, Paul Stead, Paul Conroy,
Chris Moyles, Nick Babb, Colin Slade, Phil Riley, Tony Adams,
Paul Sykes, Mike Vitti, Mark Page, Dave Simons and Mike Toolan.

Presenters from this era were Richard James, Daragh Corcoran, Tony Collins,
Stuart Ellis, Warren Moore, Paul Conroy, Julian Wharam, Carl Kingston,
Simon Hirst, Mike Toolan, Nick Babb, Neil Rudd and Sarah Griffiths.


 Presenters from this era were Warren Moore, Vicky Locklin, Tony Collins,
Bruno Brookes, Richard James, Simon Clarke, Julian Wharam,
Elisa Hilton, Nick Babb, Carl Kingston and Neil Rudd.

Presenters from this era were Simon Logan (with Katy Kaboom),
Steve Buck, Simon James & Hill, Adam Cole and Glenn Pinder.

 In 2001 the station name reverted back to Radio Aire.

Presenters during the 'noughties' included Simon Logan, Katy Kaboom,
Glenn Pinder,
Steve Buck, Simon James & Hill, Ingrid Hagemann,
David Ditchfield,
Simon Ross, Cameron Prudames, Jamie Broadbent,
Tony Wrighton,
Alex Pepper, Liz Whitaker, Matt Wilkins, Paul Foster,
Dan Wood, Matt Foister, Lex Nichol and Buckley Boland.

The station is currently owned by the Bauer Media Group
and continues to broadcast on 96.3 FM and DAB Radio.

More recently, presenters have included JK & Joel, Paul Griffiths,
Rich Williams, Ian Skye, Vicky Warham, Steve Priestley, Danny Mylo,
Paul Hayes, Kam Kelly, Connor Phillips, Scott Makin and Stuart Elmore.
SInce 1990, the medium wave frequency had been used under the name Magic 828.
The station has played an 'oldies' format of music and has more recently been
networked with other Bauer medium wave stations across the north of England.
In 2015, the decision was made to remove the Magic brand from the northern
medium wave stations and only use it for the London FM and DAB station.
The West Yorkshire station name changed to Radio Aire 2 at the time,
but since January 2019 it has been relaunched as Greatest Hits Radio. It is
networked with 17 other Bauer stations in the north of England and The Midlands.
Local opt-outs are used for news, weather, travel and commercials.

 A new DAB service was launched in 2015, named Radio Aire 3.
This was also a networked service available on digital radio and online.
In August 2017, the station name was changed to ‘The Hits’.
Since June 2018 it has been merged with Hits Radio in Manchester 
(previously Key 103) and is broadcast as a single national service.


Peter Richard Tait
15 Mar 1950 - 20 Sept 2002

 Peter Tait joined Radio Aire in 1984 and moved over to Magic 828 at
it's launch in 1990. He remained loyal to the stations, presenting
Breakfast on Radio Aire in the late 1980's and also Magic 828 from
1992 until 2002, when he sadly died following a brain tumour.