Boston College 2015

The Spring 2015 workshop took place March 20-22, 2015 at Boston College. Support was generously provided by the NSF and Boston College. Feedback: Please complete the feedback form.Registration: Please complete the registration form by February 28, 2015. Organized by: Dawei Chen, Maksym Fedorchuk, Brian Lehmann, with

Alina Marian (academic job search panel organizer), and

Jason Starr (graduate mini-school co-organizer)

Abstracts: Please find abstracts here; videos of the main lectures can be found below.

Directions: detailed maps and directions

Last modified March 28, 2015.

(Get our poster here)


Graduate mini-school lectures by:

Participants: AGNES participants and the graduate mini-school participants (as of March 18)

Abstracts: Please find abstracts here


All lectures for the main event were held at Devlin Hall 008 on the Boston College Campus. Lectures for the graduate mini-school took place in Higgins Hall 225 and 310. Maps and directions.

Friday March 20

Saturday March 21

Sunday March 22

Professional development session: We held a professional development session devoted to academic job search on Saturday afternoon.

Directions: Here is a map of the Boston College campus and here are directions from the hotel to the campus. Mathematics Department is located in Carney Hall. Both Devlin and Higgins Halls are a short walk away from Carney Hall (Math Department) and from the Conte Forum (BC shuttle stop).

Hotel Information: The conference hotel is Holiday Inn Brookline located at 1200 Beacon Street, Brookline, MA 02446 near the Coolidge Corner.

Dining: A short guide to dining at BC and around the Coolidge Corner.

About AGNES: AGNES is a series of weekend workshops in algebraic geometry. One of our goals is to introduce graduate students to a broad spectrum of current research in algebraic geometry. AGNES is held twice a year at participating universities in the Northeast.

Scientific committee: Dan Abramovich (Brown), Joe Harris (Harvard), Aise Johan de Jong (Columbia), Mikhail Kapranov (Yale), János Kollár (Princeton), Robert Lazarsfeld (Stony Brook University), James McKernan (UCSD).

Organizing committee: Dan Abramovich (Brown), Alexander Braverman (Brown), Dawei Chen (Boston College), Ron Donagi (UPenn), Maksym Fedorchuk (Boston College), Antonella Grassi (UPenn), Sam Grushevsky (Stony Brook), Paul Hacking (UMass Amherst), Mikhail Kapranov (Yale), Radu Laza (Stony Brook), Stephen Lichtenbaum (Brown), Alina Marian (Northeastern), Tony Pantev (UPenn), Sam Payne (Yale), Jason Starr (Stony Brook), Jenia Tevelev (UMass Amherst)