Hampton Wick Infant and Nursery School recognises that assessment is an integral part of learning and teaching. It drives planning, provision and delivery, influencing the steps teaching staff must take to support learners in narrowing gaps which they may have. Alongside this, it offers an opportunity for children to demonstrate and review their progress. Assessment is fundamental to successful learning and teaching and is critical to our high expectations culture.

At Hampton Wick Infant and Nursery School we aim to:

Special Educational Needs and Assessment 

In order to cater for all needs within our school the Class Teacher will ensure successful provision through a  differentiated curriculum and Personal Education Plans (PEPs) as appropriate. Precise records are kept by the Class Teacher to monitor the pupil’s progress and the teacher will discuss individual children causing concern with the SENCo. In that way, possible programmes of work can be explored to help the child access the curriculum appropriately. This also may include discussion with outside agencies. The school Special Needs Policy provides guidance on procedures in identifying, addressing and monitoring special individual needs

What is a Key Stage?

The National Curriculum is divided into 4 Key Stages. Each Key Stage covers a different period of a child’s educational life.

Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) – Nursery, Reception, 3 – 5 yrs

Key Stage One (KS1) - year 1 and Year 2,  5 – 7 yrs

Key Stage Two (KS2) - year 3, year 4, year 5, year 6, 7 – 11 yrs

Key Stage Three (KS3) -  year 7, year 8, year 9  11 – 14 yrs

Key Stage Four (KS4) -  year 10, year 11, 14 – 16 yrs

Hampton Wick Infant and Nursery School covers the Foundation Stage and Key Stage One. Children begin Key Stage 2 when they start Year 3 at St. John's, which is a junior school.

Early Years Assessment 

At the end of the Early Years Foundation Stage children are assessed against the Early Years Foundation Stage Profile.  There are 7 areas of learning covering 17 early learning goals (ELGs). For a child to achieve a Good Level of Development (GLD) they must be assessed as working at the expected level in the Prime Areas of Learning, Literacy and Mathematics.

KS1 Phonics Screening Test

All children at the end of Year 1 must complete the ‘Phonics Screening Test’.

KS1 End of Year Assessment - SATs (Standard Assessment Tests)

All children at the end of Year 2 will complete optional SATs. The tests are informal, not timed and take place in the classroom. The tests consist of:

The optional Grammar, Punctuation and Spelling test is also completed at HWINS.

In addition, a Teacher Assessment against the Teacher Assessment Framework is completed for Reading, Writing, Mathematics and Science. 

More information can be viewed in the Assessment Policy on our 'Policies' page.