Open Journal Systems (OJS)

About OJS

Open Journal Systems (OJS) is a journal management and publishing system which assists with every stage of the refereed publishing process, from submissions through to online publication and indexing. OJS seeks to improve both the scholarly and public quality of refereed research through its management systems, its finely grained indexing of research, and the context it provides for research. Open access can increase a journal’s readership as well as its contribution to the public good on a global scale (see PKP Publications).

OJS includes automated creation and submission of DOIs, management of reviews and publishing finished papers. Managing an OJS journal is of moderate complexity. A reasonable level of system administration skill is required to install and maintain the system, and work around possible problems. While OJS is mostly used for open access journals, the system has support for charging access fees and managing subscribers.

OJS @ SA Higher Education Institutions

Eastern Cape Universities (under the SEALS Consortium)

Enquiries: Wynand Van Der Walt w.vanderwalt@ru.ac.za

University of Cape Town

Enquiries: Jill Claassen jill.claassen@uct.ac.za

University of the Free State

Enquiries: Cornelle Scheltema-Van Wyk Cornelle@ufs.ac.za

University of KwaZulu-Natal

Enquiries: Faith Nomusa Bhengu Bhengun1@ukzn.ac.za

North-West University

Enquiries: Zandre Duvenhage zandre@skryflabpotch.co.za or Tobie Van Dyk Tobie.VanDyk@nwu.ac.za

University of Stellenbosch

Enquiries: Mimi Seyffert mseyf@sun.ac.za

University of the Western Cape

Enquiries: Allison Fullard afullard@uwc.ac.za

University of South Africa

Enquiries: Pieter Rall rallpb@unisa.ac.za

University of Johannesburg

Enquiries: Tyson Mabunda ttmabunda@uj.ac.za

Alternative OJS Hosting

The following service providers are in no way affiliated with ASSAf, and ASSAf disclaims all liability arising out of the use of or inability to use the service providers listed. ASSAf assumes no responsibility, and shall not be liable for any arrangements between journals and the listed individuals/companies.

Useful Links