Middlesbrough Philatelic Society

About the Society

The Society held its first meeting on 14th October 1948 and membership reached 37 in the first season. The Society has had many changes of venue over the years but has met at the Middlesbrough Bowls Club premises on Cornfield Road since 1984. The Society has hosted NEPA convention on at least five occasions.

Contact Details

Please contact Dave Foster on 01642 592161


Meetings are held at Meetings are held at Middlesbrough Scout Headquarters, Tollesby Road, Middlesbrough TS5 7PJ on the second and fourth Wednesdays of each month from September to June. Meetings begin at 7.30pm

Programme 2023 - 2024


27 September New acquisitions & Subscriptions

11 October Philip Dove - Dictionary of Stamp Collecting

25 October Bill Shand - Scots on Stamps

Steve Dixon - French Africa and Somalia Coast

08 November Keith Smith - Aspects of British Mail - Express, Postage Due etc.

22 November Mike Gibson - The Great War

14 December Social Night and  members' Mail posted in December


10 January President’s Night

24 January Members' Night - The 70s

14 February Barry Burns - GVI including Japanese Occupation Issues

28 February Members' Night, NEPA Competition entries and Postcard night

13 March Steve Dixon - French Africa and Somalia Coast

27 March Members' Night - These Interest Me

10 April Ian Lightfoot, NEPA President - The Philately of Germany to 1945

20 April NEPA Convention, Bowburn, Durham, DH6 5AT

24 April       Clive Jones - GB Registered Mail

08 May Members' Night - Letters I, J or K

22 May John Church - From Jutland to Junkyard, the Kaiser's Navy

11 June AGM and 12 sheets