Darlington Philatelic Society

About the Society

The Darlington Philatelic Society was inaugurated on the 8th December 1924 at the King's Head Hotel in Northgate. The first president was Sir R. A. Pease, from 1924 to 1928. Since then the Society have met continually and currently have an active membership of over thirty members. It celebrated its 50th Anniversary in 1974 and hosted the NEPA Convention in that year. On its 75th Anniversary the Society hosted NEPA's 50th Convention.

The Society has a Members library and our meetings include regular displays, auctions, competitions, buying and selling, social evenings and a Christmas quiz. Prospective members are welcome to attend any meeting.

Contact Details

For further details, please contact our secretary Christine Morton on 07530 667064 or e-mail Darlington Secretary


Meetings are held in the Darlington Cricket and Athletics Club, South Terrace, Darlington DL1 5JD on the 2nd and 4th Thursdays of each month, starting at 8.00pm and finish by 10.00pm, , speakers are invited to talk for two sessions on no more than 15 minutes each.

Programme 2023 - 2024


05 September Visit to Newcastle PS

14 September          Welcome back/Subscriptions

28 September         Auction

12 October              Open Evening

26 October Penny Reds - Bill Keown

09 November           Members' Night

23 November           Auction (Charity)

14 December            Christmas Buffet and Quiz


11 January                Letter Competition "Q"

25 January                Auction

08 February              NEPA President - Ian Lightfoot

22 February           Open Evening

14 March                 Andrew Stoves

28 March Auction

11 Apr il                    Future Programme Discussion

20 April              NEPA.Convention, Bowbutn, Durham, DH6 5AT

25 April                    DPS President - Rod Coombe

09 May                     Open Evening

23 May                     Auction

13 June                     AGM

27 June                     Letter Competition 

11 July                      Social Censorship & Airmail - Bill Shand

25 July                     Members' Night

08 August                 Open Evening

22 August                 Dealers’ Evening