Gateshead Philatelic Society

About the Society

The Society was founded on 16th March 1948 and hosted its first convention in 1950. Mr John Jefferies presented the President’s Chain of Office to the society in the 1968-1969 season, during his first term as President. The society holds annual competitions for members who compete for four trophies: The Stephenson Cup for the Open Class; the Thematic Shield; The Jubilee Cup for the Postal History Competition and the Restricted Trophy for members who have not previously won a competition.

Contact Details

For further details, please contact our secretary at 162 Canterbury Road, Newton Hall Estate, Durham DH1 5XT


Meetings are held at the Emmanuel Academy, Saltwell Road South, Gateshead NE9 6LE on the 2nd Tuesday of each Month, September through May Inclusive starting at 6.30pm and finishing by 8.30pm.



14 September Members’ Night - Recent Acquisitions

02 October NEPA.Convention, Bowburn, Durham, DH6 5AT

12 October New Zealand – David Fisher

09 November Austria – Nigel Howey

14 December Members’ Night - Christmas Theme and Mince Pies


11 January Captain Cook – Rod Combe (NEPA. President/Chair)

08 February Members’ Night - Letters D, E, F

08 March Airmail Miscellany – Geoff Reynolds

19 March NEPA.Convention, Bowburn, Durham, DH6 5AT

26 April * President’s Night - His Choice - Nigel Howey

06 May National Stamp Day

10 May AGM and Thematic Night - Val Beeken

(*) Please note that the 26 April, 2022, meeting is on the fourth Tuesday of the month