Book Review

Your Heart Belongs To Me. By Dean Koontz Isbn 9780007267569

posted Mar 22, 2011, 10:37 AM by Sally Wolf

Ryan heart has failed and at 34 he has found himself on a waiting list for a new one. Impatience for life gets the better of him and he searches for a new doctor. Dr. Hobbs finds him a heart in record time and the transplant is a success. A year later things begin to happen to him that make him wonder if it was all worth it. This is a book filled with love suspense, danger and a little Poe thrown in for good measure.


This is not my favorite Dean Koontz book but it is not bad either. I think that it was a little slow on the upstart but the ending was fast paced and well worth the reading of the rest of it. The subtext of this book is that you can't buy life you just have to live it and let it be as it should be. I would recommend it to anyone who likes fantasy, romance, horror, and drama. I bought this book from a used book store.


Sundays at Tiffany's by James Paterson and Gabrielle Charbonnet ISBN 9789446536318

posted Mar 22, 2011, 10:35 AM by Sally Wolf


Almost, every kid has an imaginary friend Jane Margaux is no exception her special pal is Michael. One of their favorite things to do is eat sundaes at Tiffiany's, when her busy mother takes her out, for their weekly trip to admire the jewelry. This was not to last however because Jane was turning nine and Michael had to leave he didn't want to that was just the unwritten rule of being an imaginary friend. He told Jane that it would be alright because she would soon forget him. The thing is that she didn't she just loved him to much to let him go. Now she is all grown up and still likes to eat sundaes at Tiffiany's one day she happens to run into her old dear friend Michael. They pick up their relationship right were they left it and something extraordinary happens.


I have to say that I loved this book from beginning to end. Since I had a ruff childhood I had many imaginary friends a whole city in fact. Many a times I wished that they would all be could be real so that I felt less alone. This book is about the power of love and how it can make the impossible possible. I would recommend it to anyone who likes romance, and drama, or had an imaginary friend when they were little. This book was bought at a used book store


The Conspiracy By Jasmine Cresswell

posted Oct 10, 2010, 10:26 AM by Sally Wolf

    This book is about Verity Marlowe. After the death of her husband she falls in a downward spiral of alcoholism and self-pity. Until one day a funny encounter with someone from her past shakes her loose from her stupor. Just in time to get back to work and save her country and her childhood friend. He and his family are in trouble and she is the only one who speaks his language. She rushes to his aid only to find that the other agent in charge of the whole thing is Michael Strait. To her shock she realizes that the simple truths that she knew about him were really well crafted lies. Can she forgive him enough to save a country and herself.

This book clearly suffers form back of the box syndrome sometimes I wonder if the person who writes the synopsis on the back flap really reads the book at all. At first glace I thought that this book was just another run of the mill anti-terrorist book. This is not the case however it is a very delightful book filled with funny lines romantic scenes and a bit of a twist. I would recommend this book it is well worth the read and I give it a 4 out of 5 stars.

3rd Degree by James Patterson and Andrew Gross

posted Aug 23, 2010, 5:41 PM by Sally Wolf   [ updated Aug 23, 2010, 5:43 PM ]

   This is the third book in the Women's Murder club series. It starts out with the now well known Lindsay Boxer diving into a burring town house and ends with a bang. I was afraid that this book would lack some of the flare that the other two did, but the plot was new and fresh and filled with triumph and tragedy. I did find, however that this book lacked the red haring twist that drew me into the other books. I think that the political satire theme thought the book did not really lend itself to that and might have detracted from the plot. I would recommend it as a good read and look forward to the others in the group. This book was lent to me from the library of Me-Me thanks again!

Glory By Devin O'Branagan

posted Aug 23, 2010, 5:33 PM by Sally Wolf   [ updated Aug 23, 2010, 5:44 PM ]

  Love, Hate, Life, Death,and Faith, these are words that we all take for granted every day, yet they seem to be what holds the fabric of the universe together. This book is about a young girl who finds that each one of those words are more than just words they are power. When Glory finds out that she is the cure for a deadly plague she is thrown into a world she only thought existed in the movies. With the help of some very unconventional friends she finds herself in a deadly race to save all of humanity. I found this book to be very enjoyable and well worth the read because it was filled with love, loss, and passion. It is not like any other book that I have read of this kind and should not be treated as such just because of the subject matter or characters in it. This book is all about the the power of Faith and should be approached that way. This Advanced Reading Copy was provided to me by the author.

In the EarthSea Trilogy by Ursula K. Le Guin

posted Jul 7, 2010, 2:41 PM by Sally Wolf   [ updated Jul 27, 2010, 5:03 PM ]

Book One - A Wizard of Earthsea
This is about a young man's journey from a lonely poor boy to a wizard of legend. I think This little adventure is well written. It is about the way pride and envy can make you loose yourself. This is one man's quest to find it again before it destroys him forever Just like any quest it is full of adventure, joy and pearl.

The moral of it all being to face your fear head on and beat it before it beats you. I would recommend this book to anyone who likes fantasy especially young adults.

Book Two- The Tombs of Atuan
At age five a young girl is taken from her family and is striped of everything including her name. Her job is to be the High priestess to the ancient and nameless powers of the earth. Her whole existence is changed however when she meets a thief who has come to claim a treasure that was long since lost.

I think that this book is about the dangers of major organizations that have to much power and how they can take everything away from you. Then blind you from the reality of what is really important Love!
A quote from the book says it best
"What she had begun to learn  was the weight of liberty. Freedom is a heavy load, a great and strange burden for the spirit to undertake. It is not easy. It is not a gift given, but a choice made, and the choice maybe a hard one. The road goes upward towards the light but the laden traveler may never reach the end of it." © Page 141 in the book The Tombs of Autan by Ursula K. Le Guin
I would recommend this book to anyone who likes fantasy especially young adults.



Book Three- The Farthest Shore
In the beginning of this book a boy fallows a wizard on a quest to find what has gone wrong with the world. In the end the Wizard fallows the man to his destiny. This book is about the circle of life and the balance between good and evil. Everything that lives must die and everything that dies must live first. That is the way of the world. I think that this book was a good summery of all that one has learned from the other books. That you have to live and do what you love because that is what holds the world together. Balance and order are accomplished by the the opposites of Life, Death, Hate and love.
I would recommend this book to anyone who likes fantasy especially young adults.


As a whole this Trilogy is a fantasy twist of the truths of reality. They all are worth the read for young and old alike.

2nd Chance By James Paterson and Andrew Gross.

posted Jul 7, 2010, 2:33 PM by Sally Wolf   [ updated Jul 7, 2010, 3:32 PM ]

This book is about the newly promoted Lieutenant Lindsay Boxer and her friends in the Woman's Murder Club. They are at again, in this wonderful sequel to "1st To Die" This book expertly covers all of the different ways that a person deals with the pain you feel at the loss of someone you love.  I also found the ending to be well written it kept me guessing right up until the last shot was fired.  I would recommend this book as a well worthwhile read if you are a mystery lover.

I borrowed this book from my Mother-in-law while I am held up at her house thanks MeMe.

Kiss Me Deadly By Michele Hauf

posted Jul 3, 2010, 2:43 PM by Sally Wolf

 This book is about a vampire who accidentally falls in love with the witch who tried to kill him. This book is very good if you like romance, vampires, witches and a bit of the Devil thrown in for good measure. I give this book a 6 out of 10 for an old idea that was given a new twist. I read this book on-line for free at http://www.kobobooks.com/

1St To Die By James Paterson and Andrew Gross.

posted Jun 8, 2010, 12:57 AM by Sally Wolf

    What do you get when you put together the Police Homicide Inspector Lindsay Boxer, the Medical Examiner Clair, the Assistant DA Jill and the Chronicle Reporter Cindy? The Woman's Murder club of coarse.  This is about a group of professional ladies that normally wouldn't have anything to do with each other out side of their normal duties. Putting their combined knowledge and friendship together in a off duty effort to salve unusual crimes. I give this book an 8 out of 10 in my opinion it had good flow and I enjoy the character layout of Lindsay Boxer. I did however think that the hook of the book was not, executed very well. It seemed to loose the idea of being a mystery novel. When it became an introduction to the Woman's Murder club book, instead. I think that this book is well worth the read and look forward to the continuation of the series now that the introductions are all out of the way. I borrowed this book from my Mother-in-law while I am held up at her house thanks MeMe.

With the Tide A novel by Mary Bright Carr

posted May 31, 2010, 5:15 PM by Sally Wolf

    When I write a review about about a book I normally start by telling the, would be reader what the book is about. Then I state my opinion on the book and whether or not I would recommend it as a worth while read.
    For this book, I have to break that format because frankly after reading this 217 page book I have no Idea what it is about. I was lost from page one on! This  book is a list of sentences that have nothing to do with one another. I give this book a 1 out of 10 and I hope that this pre-reader copy gets a big edit before it hits the press for real. I think that it could be a good book if it had some sort of flow, direction, plot, or point but it bounces all over the place leaving you dumbfounded.
    This book is a pre-reader copy provided to me by the publisher Publishing Works Inc.
Publishing Works was launched in 2003 as an independent press specializing in regional titles. Since then, the company has grown dramatically to embody a list of titles that spans diverse genres, age levels, and subject matter. Please visit them at their website, www.publishingworks.com, or view their catalog for a complete list of titles. To purchase this book or any other book published by Publishing Works, visit their online store here.

1-10 of 37