Welcome to the ACTCA website archive. Here you'll find older announcements and front page posts. Enjoy!


RATINGS (March 2015)

The Australian Chess Federation (ACF) routinely updates the ratings of all eligible players across the country.

Ratings for ACT Players (Standard)

Ratings for ACT Players (Quick)

The current full list can be accessed via the ACF link under 'Links' on the left hand column of this web page.


2014 O2C Doeberl Cup

The Doeberl Cup is Canberra's biggest tournament run over the Easter long weekend. This tournament attracts many strong players including titled players from around the world. The Premier and Major divisions are FIDE rated.

Where: Woden Tradies Club, Launceston St, Woden

When: 17 April-21 April 2014 (Premier), 18 April-21 April (Major and Minor) 18-19 April (Under 1200).

Results for 2014 and earlier years can be found at the event website .

2014 ACT Championship

The ACT Chess Championship is an annual 9-round FIDE Rated Swiss, open to all members of the ACT Chess Association.

The 2014 Championship was held at Campbell High School, Trealor Crescent, Campbell (next to the War Memorial)

Time limit was G90m+30s

DOP: FIDE International Arbiter Shaun Press

First Place (tie): FM Junta Ikeda and IM Andrew Brown

Third Place: Victor Braguine

Under 1800: Jeff Suptut

Under 1200: Siddhant Badrinarayan

Details of results can be found on the International Chess Results server:

2014 ACTCA Lightning Championship

The 2014 ACTCA Lightning Championships were held at the Belconnen Chess Club on 5 Feb 2014.

Results can be accessed at

2013 ACTCA Rapidplay Championship

The event was held outside O'Malley's/Chicken Gourmet and attracted 31 players, comrprising rapidplay veterans, up and coming junior players, and a few old hands making a return after a number of years. As previous winners like GM David Smerdon, IM Andrew Brown and FM Junta Ikeda were out of town, it was a wide open event.

After 7 rounds, Wenlin Yin emerged as the winner on 6.5. In second place was Roger Farrell on 6 (only losing to Yin), with Willis Lo and Harry Press tied for third on 5/7. Aelfric Gardiner-Garden returned from a year away from chess to win the Under 1700 prize, while the Under 1000 prize was shared between Blair Morris, Ryan Harder, Daniel Kent, and William Rumley (just 7 years old!), on 3 points. Special mention should also go to Steven Sengstock, who bounced back from a very serious bike accident a couple of months ago, to finish on 4.5, losing only to the first and second place getters.

(Report drawn from Chessexpress.)

2013 Vikings Weekender

The 2013 Vikings Weekender was held on the 16&17th of November 2013. The venue was the Tuggeranong Vikings Rugby Union Club, Ricardo St, Wanniassa and results can be found at Vikings 2013 Results

2013 O2C Doeberl Cup

Tournament results can be accessed at

2013 ACT Chess Championship

The 2013 ACT Chess Championship was held on the 15, 16, 17, 23 and 24 of February 2013. The venue was the Tuggeranong Vikings Rugby Union Club, Ricardo St, Erindale (Home of the Tuggeranong Chess Club).

The event was a 9 round FIDE Rated Swiss, played with a time limit of G/90m+30s per move.

Results can be accessed at

and games at

2013 ACTCA Lightning Championship

The 2013 ACT Lightning Championship was on 21 January 2013 at the Tuggeranong Chess Club, with a pretty strong field of 30 players in attendance. The top two seeds were FM Junta Ikeda and IM Andrew Brown, and the championship was simply a race between the two. This time Ikeda emerged the winner of their individual game, and went on to take the title with 9/9. Brown managed to defeat every other opponent and took second place with 8/9. In third place was former champion Roger Farrell, who scored 7 points, losing only to Brown and Ikeda.

The Under 1700 prize was shared between Milan Ninchich and Bazli Karattiyatill, while Jozo Rosic won the Under 1350 prize. (Report drawn from Chessexpress.)

2012 ACTCA Rapidplay Championship

The 2012 ACTCA Rapidplay Championships were held on Saturday 22 December in City Walk, Canberra City (outside King O'Malley's)

It was a 7 round swiss with a time limit of G/15m. It was a FIDE rated event (for the first time)

2012 Vikings Weekender

This tournament was held on 17-18 November 2012. Results can be found at:

2012 ACTCA Championship

The 2012 ACT Championship has ended with IM Andrew Brown and FM Junta Ikeda sharing the title after they finished on 8/9.

Going into the final day Ikeda had a half point lead over Brown, but was held to a draw in round 8 after some determined defence by Josh Bishop. This allowed Brown to join him the lead on 7 points, with one round to play. In the final round Brown defeated Matthew Bennet, while Ikeda was once again forced to work hard, finally beating Willis Lo in the last game of the tournament to finish. As the ACT Chess Association happily awards shared titles, both names will be engraved on the Championship trophy.

Jeremy Reading finished in third place with 6/9 after defeating Jamie Lee-Guo in round 9. Despite the loss Guo picked up a rating prize as well as performing well above his tournament seeding. Another player who had a good tournament was Lachlan Smart, who scored 5/9 despite being the bottom seed! Full results of the tournament can be found here, while the pgn file of the games is available at the ANU Chess Club website.

Shaun Press on chessexpress

2012 ACTCA Lightning Championship

The ACTCA Lightning Championship was held on 2 February. FM Endre Ambrus won the event on 10/11. Thanks to IA Shaun Press for acting as DOP for the event.

Full results and the crosstable from this event can be found here

A picture of the winner, FM Endre Ambrus, can be viewed here

2011 ACTCA Rapidplay Championship

The ACTCA Rapidplay Championship was held on 17 December. FM Junta Ikeda won the event on 6.5/7.

Full results and the crosstable from this event can be found here

2011 Vikings Chess Weekender Results

The 2011 Vikings Chess Weekender was run from the 18-19 November 2011. FM Junta Ikeda won the event on 6/7.

Standings for this event can be found at the ANU Chess Club website