Physics Slam

Saturday, January 13th, 2018 at 7:30pm

University of Oregon

156 Straub Hall

FREE and open to the public

Six physicists turn into slammers for one night as they compete with each other to bring you the clearest and most entertaining explanation of a topic in physics. Each has only 10 minutes to wow you with secrets and subtleties of nature that took them their entire careers to discover. That's it - 10 minutes. No fuss, no intellectual fog, and absolutely no unexplained jargon. Instead, you get good old-fashioned entertainment and a solid foundation in physical science, or the slammers haven't done their jobs.

This year's Physics Slam takes place during a special event - the University of Oregon is hosting 200 undergraduate physics majors from the Pacific Northwest for the 2018 Conference for Undergraduate Women in Physics (CUWiP). These participants will be the judges to determine which slammer will go home with the top prize.


Meet the slammers!

Dr. Benjamín Alemán

Dr. Tim Cohen

Dr. Ben Farr

Dr. Laura Jeanty

Dr. Jayson Paulose

Dr. Tristan Ursell

These conferences are supported in part by the National Science Foundation (PHY-1622510) and by the Department of Energy Office of Science (DE-SC0011076). Further details are available on the APS conference website.