Northern Lights

Aurora borealis - the northern lights - the World's Most Amazing Natural Phenomenon
 

On the Hunt for the Northern Lights


The pulsating and multicoloured northern lights are born at a height of about 100 kilometers above ground level as electrically charged particles collide with the earth's atmosphere near the magnetic poles. Northern lights can be seen from the beginning of  September until April (but not every night). Our summertime isn't dark enough for seeing northern lights (we have the midnight sun). There are northern lights in 200 nights in Saariselkä region every year.
 
The Lonely Planet Blue List 2007 describes the northern lights as ”the World's Most Amazing Natural Phenomenon”.
 

Google Street View (Northern Lights, Finland): https://www.google.com/maps/streetview/#northern-lights-finland
  
A La Carte Lapland: http://www.alacartelapland.com
 
 
Aurora Borealis page by Tom Eklund: http://personal.inet.fi/koti/tom.eklund/aurora.html

Aurora borealis photos by Tiina Törmänen: http://www.tiinatormanen.com/#!/portfolio/G00004hnB5gMW3U4
 
 
 
Aurora photos by Studio Tunturi-Lappi: http://www.studiotunturi-lappi.fi/ (choose Aurora on the left)
 

Aurora Village (Ivalo): http://auroravillage.fi/
 
 
Finland.com Travel Portal: http://finland.com/main-63-id.do
 
Finnish Meteorological Institute: http://www.fmi.fi/research_space/space_9.html
 
Hotel & Igloo Village Kakslauttanen (one of the best places for seeing Northern Lights): http://www.kakslauttanen.fi and http://www.visitfinland.com/article/doze-off-under-the-northern-lights/
 
 
Kiela Naturium (Northern Lights planetarium in Muonio): http://m.lonelyplanet.com/destinations/Muonio/see/631695/g-10604/d-631686/l-activity

 

Life in Lapland (Hunt Auroras with me in Rovaniemi): http://www.lifeinlapland.com/photograph-northern-lights-auroras-rovaniemi.html

Nellim Wilderness Hotel with Aurora Bubble & Sarmi Aurora Lodge (an adventure based ecotourism company in Northern Lapland, in new Aurora Bubbles you can fall asleep looking up at the star-lit sky from your cozy bed): http://www.nellim.fi/

Northern Lights Adventures (Wilderness Safaris Saariselkä): http://nla.fi/
 

Northern Lights or Aurora Borealis (best places and time to see it): http://www.blog.suomi-holiday.fi/11.php
 
 

 
Polar Image (Aurora webcam & photos): http://www.polarimage.fi/menu/aurora.htm


 
 
Sodankylä Geophysical Observatory: http://www.sgo.fi/
 
Space Weather Prediction Centre: http://www.swpc.noaa.gov/Aurora/index.html
 
Studio Tunturi-Lappi (Aurora movie): http://www.studiotunturi-lappi.fi/video.html

The Guardian - Northern lights photography, the aurora selfie snapper: http://www.theguardian.com/travel/gallery/2014/nov/19/northern-lights-photography-aurora-selfie-snapper
 

Visit Finland (The Northern Lights - Sparked by the Fox?): http://www.visitfinland.com/article/the-northern-lights-sparked-by-the-fox/
 
 
Keywords: Lapland, Finland, Sweden, Norway, Scandinavia, travel, tourism, sights, attractions, links, accommodation, hotel, hotel, cottage, cottages, aurora borealis, northern lights, activities, safari, weather, snow, Rovaniemi, Saariselka, Levi, skiing, ski, nature, midnight sun, traveling, travelling, tours, flights, trip, trekking, hiking
Comments