Firearms Licensing

Please read this entire page before submitting an application

The Holliston Police Department Firearms Licensing Division does not accept walk-in appointments.


LTC Renewal process:

Completed Application

Payment of $100 with checks made out to the Town of Holliston

The application must be received AND PROCESSED prior to the expiration date to remain valid

Applicants will be mailed a receipt


First Time Applicants:

Completed Application

Payment of $100 with checks made out to the Town of Holliston

Copy of certificate from mass approved firearms safety course or hunter’s safety certificate

When the application is received the applicant will be contacted by a licensing official for appointment to be fingerprinted and interviewed, please do not call requesting an appointment.

Renewal and new LTC/FID Applications may be submitted to HPD directly or by being sent via USPS to:
Holliston Police Department
c/o Firearms Division
550 Washington Street
Holliston, MA 01746


Please be sure to include a current phone number so that we may contact you.

Completed applications will be processed in the order in which they are received. Current Massachusetts Registry images will be used as photo identification for both renewal and first time applicants.


**Your application will not be considered if it is incomplete or missing fees.**

Any additional questions or concerns can be made directly by email to Sgt. MacGray or Ofc. Scanlon


ltc & fid licensing Information

Massachusetts License to Carry/FID Forms


At your appointment, please bring the following:

  • Completed LTC/FID Application

  • Firearms Safety Certificates (for First Time Applicants only)

  • $100.00 LTC Application Fee for applicants 21 years of age or older

  • $100.00 FID Application Fee for applicants 18 years of age or older

  • $25.00 FID Application Fee for applicants under 18 years of age

Application Fee is waived for residents age 70 years of age or older


New LTC applicants must be 21 years of age or older to obtain a permit. In accordance with MGL Ch. 140, Sec. 131(a) & (b); Issuing of LTCs is also “subject to such restrictions relative to the possession, use or carrying of firearms as the licensing authority deems proper” An LTC costs $100.00 and is valid for 6 years.

New FID applicants must be 18 years or older (or 14-17 years of age with parental consent. Applicants 14 years old may apply, but will not be issued the card until they reach age 15). In accordance with MGL Ch. 140, Sec. 129B; “Any person residing or having a place of business within the jurisdiction of the licensing authority or any person residing in an area of exclusive federal jurisdiction located within a city or town may submit to the licensing authority an application for a firearm identification card, or renewal of the same, which the licensing authority shall issue if it appears that the applicant is not a prohibited person”. The fee for an FID card is $100.00 for people 18 years of age or older and $25 for applicants under 18 years of age. It is valid for 6 years.

Firearm License Renewals – Firearm licenses are valid for 6 years. You must submit a request with your local police department for a renewal prior to the expiration date of your current license. If your application for renewal is made prior to the expiration date, your current license remains valid until the renewal is either approved or denied. Additional training is not required.

firearms law in Massachusetts

(brief overview)

Carrying Violations: (on the person)

Unlawful Carrying of a Firearm - c.269 s.10(a)

  • No LTC or not otherwise exempted; or

  • Suspended or revoked LTC (except where same was the result of fail to notify change of address) or renewal denied after expiration

  • Punishment: Felony (2 1/2 to 5 or 1-2 1/2 House of Correction) 1 year mandatory


Unlawful Carrying of a Rifle or Shotgun - c.269 s.10(a)

  • No FID card or LTC or not otherwise exempted

  • Suspended or revoked LTC or FID (except where same was the result of failure to notify of change of address) or renewal denied after expiration

  • Punishment: Felony (2 1/2 to 5 or 1-2 1/2 House of Correction) 1 year mandatory


Carrying a firearm on school grounds - c.269 s.10(j)

  • Only law enforcement officers (LEO) may carry firearm on school grounds

  • Punishment: Misdemeanor - No arrest allowed unless other crimes involved

Carrying a firearm in violation of an LTC restriction - c.140 s.131

  • Carrying in violation of restrictions set by licensing authority for a Class A or B

  • Verify restriction parameters with issuing authority (vary with jurisdiction)

  • Punishment: Misdemeanor ($1,000 - $10,000 fine) - No arrest allowed


Carrying a loaded non-large capacity rifle or shotgun on public way - c.269 s.12d(a)

  • Except persons lawfully engaged in hunting or otherwise exempt by law; carries any LOADED non-large capacity rifle or shotgun on a public way

  • Punishment: Misdemeanor (2 years House of Correction) Statutory right of arrest without a warrant.

no hunting permitted on sundays

For More Hunting Information visit Mass Wildlife