What is the Budget Process?

Each year, the Mohawk Trail Regional School District prepares a budget that covers operations at the Mohawk Middle School/High School, the Buckland-Shelburne Elementary School, the Colrain Central School, and Sanderson Academy.  The budget is developed by the District Administration through a process that incorporates input from principals and other administrators, teachers and others involved in the day-to-day education of students. 

Once a draft budget has been prepared, it undergoes an extensive process of review and revision, starting with the Budget Subcommittee of the Mohawk Trail School Committee.  The Budget Subcommittee meets often, generally weekly, during the budget season (November – January) in sessions that are open to the public. Meeting dates, times and agendas are posted on the Mohawk Trail website (mtrsd.org – Click on About Us, School Committees, Mohawk Trail RSD School Committee Info, then Postings).  As these sessions progress, the budget generally undergoes a series of revisions, which are again reviewed and discussed.  Everyone is welcome to attend these open meetings.

Following these sessions, the Budget Subcommittee votes to recommend a final proposed budget to the full School Committee, which reviews the budget in detail.  The School Committee then holds a second meeting (a Public Hearing) specifically to hear feedback on the proposed budget from parents, town officials and others in the local communities.  Feedback from these sessions is then incorporated into a final budget which must be approved by the Budget Subcommittee and then, the full School Committee. This process must be completed by March 1 of each year.

Again, all budget-related meetings of the Budget Subcommittee and the full School Committee are open to the public and public participation in these meeting is encouraged.

Once the School Committee has passed a proposed budget, it is presented to the citizens of each member town within the Mohawk Regional School District at each town’s Annual Town Meeting.  In accordance with the Mohawk Regional Agreement, towns representing a minimum of 10 voting units must approve the budget for it to become effective.  The towns of Ashfield, Buckland, Colrain, Heath, Plainfield and Shelburne (District K-12 members) each account for 2 units, while the towns of Hawley and Charlemont (District 7-12 members) each account for 1 unit.