The Karin Muraszko Era Photos (2005-present)

After Dr. Hoff retired, Dr. Karin Muraszko became the fifth and current chair of the Department of Neurosurgery in 2005, making history as the first female head of an academic neurosurgery department in the country. She was also among the first pediatric neurosurgeons to become a chairperson, as well as the first female Director of the American Board of Neurological Surgeons. In her time as department chair, Dr. Muraszko has recruited world-class basic science researchers to enhance our laboratory effort in the area of neuro-oncology. She has also recruited leaders to our clinical faculty – an effort that has been essential to the expansion of our residency training program. She maintains an active clinical practice with research interests in pediatric brain tumors, Chiari malformations, developmental anomalies of the spine (particularly spina bifida) and craniofacial anomalies. Notably, Dr. Muraszko received the Distinguished Service Award from the Congress of Neurological Surgeons in 2015 and the Humanitarian Award from the American Academy of Neurological Surgeons in 2016.

Request for Photos: If you have any photos from your time in the Department of Neurosurgery (whether recent or dating back many years!), we’d love to include them in this photo archive. Please send photos you’d like to share to Megan Foldenauer at, or mail them to the address listed below. Please be sure to include names of individuals pictured in the photo(s) along with a date/year, if known. Hard copy photos or digital versions are both fine (Megan can digitize photos as needed). If you send an original copy that you’d like returned to you, please be sure to include a return address.

Mail photos to:

U-M Department of Neurosurgery

Attn: Megan Foldenauer

3552 Taubman Center

1500 E. Medical Center Drive, SPC 5338

Ann Arbor, MI 48109