Team ‘B’ intentionally slowed down the tempo of the game.
How should the referee respond?
Ruling
The referee should keep the game at a constant tempo within the normal flow of the game. The referee should never allow any external influences to retard the flow of a match and ruin the good performance of one of the teams.
A floor wiping towel from one of the players of ‘B’ fell on the court of A.
What should the referees do?
Ruling
If, according to the judgment of the 1st referee, the situation is dangerous, he should stop the game immediately and direct a replay. But if the rally is finished and the falling towel will have no influence on its outcome, there is no need to direct a replay.
Rule 17.2
The match was resumed on another playing court after the lights failed.
What is the correct ruling on the use of a disqualified player in the third set when it started again?
Ruling
The interrupted set has to be cancelled and replayed with the same team members and the same starting line-ups but neither disqualified nor expelled players are allowed to participate.
Another player who was on the team and not in the starting line-up must take his place.
Furthermore, all other warnings/sanctions which have been recorded on the score sheet up to the point that the lights went out must be carried over into the new set.
Rule 17.3.2.2
When passing the net post to retrieve a 1st hit passing outside the antenna, a player grabbed the referee’s chair to turn rapidly enough to get to the ball.
Is this taking support?
Ruling
No.
To judge, if the action was legal, the moment of the playing the ball is the crucial point. Because the player did not take any support while he was hitting the ball, his action cannot be judged as an assisted hit.
Legal and attractive play.
Rule 9.1.3
After a substitution, based on the result of the challenge procedure the 1st referee had to change her original decision and ordered to replay the rally. The coach therefore requested to reverse the substitution.
Is this possible?
Ruling
Since the 1st referee changed his/her decision, which was the basis of the substitution, the coach’s request must be accepted. No substitution would be charged against this team.
During an attack, the ball rebounded from the net band (or the opponent block). As it did so, the antenna detached itself from the net. It was already in the process of falling down, when the ball was contacted again by the red team.
What should be the 1st referee’s decision?
Ruling
The video review suggests that the ball actually missed the block. However, in any case, because the antenna had detached fractionally before any red player contacted the ball, the rally should be replayed.
The 1st referee was correct in immediately calling for a replay.
In Set 3, the team scores are 9-7. Team with 7 points is suddenly found to have two number 11s on court.
Apparently one player played sets one and two with number 10, as legally registered and recorded on the score sheet, but when she changed her wet jersey/uniform shirt between sets 2 and 3 she mistakenly put on a Number 11.
Neither player had served during set 3.
The 1st Referee instructed the player to change to her original number, and awarded a delay sanction against the team.
Was this the correct action by the 1st referee?
Ruling
Yes, the referee was correct.
Both the scorer and second referee should have noticed before the start of the set that there were two number 11s, and should have corrected the situation at that moment.
In this unusual situation, not exactly covered in the rules, the 1st referee has the power to decide such matters.
However, as the player was legally registered on the score sheet, and was actually on the line up sheet with the correct number (number 10) rule 7 cannot apply here.
Hence, the 1st referee was correct NOT to deduct points from the team.
As the team was responsible, at least in part, for the match being interrupted, a delay sanction was correctly applied, and the player should play on with the correct uniform number.
The match should continue with the scores as they were at the moment the error was discovered.
In summary:
23.2.3 He/she has the power to decide any matters involving the game, including those not provided for in the rules
change the uniform back to the correct number;
charge the team for delay
Rule 7.3.5.4; 23.2.3