Two substitute players entered the substitution zone. After the request was recognized and acknowledged by the scorer, the coach decided to make only one substitution.
What is the procedure for the 2nd referee?
Ruling
This is legal as long as this does not cause a delay.
Therefore, the 2nd referee simply carries out one substitution. The scorer is responsible for recording only substitutions which actually take place. In such a case, the 2nd referee should carefully check how many substitutions were recorded in the score sheet, regardless of whether a paper or an electronic one is used.
Rules 15.10.2, 15.10.3.1, 15.10.4, 16.1
One substitute player entered the substitution zone (the scorer sounded the horn) while another one was just leaving the warm-up area to try to enter the substitution zone.
How many substitutions should be allowed?
Ruling
The moment of the request is the entrance of the substitute player(s) into the substitution zone. In this case the 2nd referee should grant only the one for the player who actually entered the substitution zone.
The second action should be rejected as not a part of the original request. However, in such a situation the 2nd referee has the right to wave away the player trying to enter the substitution in order to prevent an improper request. This is part of “smooth refereeing”
Rules 15.10.3.1, 15.10.3.2, 15.11.1.3
A rally had to be interrupted due to the injury of a player of team A. After a short therapy on court the injured player was judged ready to play. Before the whistle for the next service, team A requested a substitution. Is it allowed?
Ruling
No, it is not allowed.
If a rally has been interrupted due to an injury, or an external interference, for example a ball rolling onto the court, the net has been broken, failure of electricity, etc., it is improper to request any regular game interruption, except a forced substitution for an injured or sanctioned player, including an exceptional substitution for these reasons.
Refereeing Guidelines Rule 6 and 15.7
Team A attempted to make a substitution, but this was rejected, because the incoming player was not ready to play. As a consequence, the team was issued with a delay warning. The next rally started but was interrupted when an errant ball entered the court. Team A immediately tried to make the same substitution before play restarted. The referees refused to accept the substitution.
Were they correct to do so?
Ruling
Yes, the referees were correct. The team may not make another request for a regular game interruption (substitution or time out) until the interrupted rally is completed – i.e. until a point is awarded.
Rule 15.2
The substitute player had entered the substitution zone with the wrong “numbered paddle” (e.g. own paddle) for substitution. He fumbled to get the correct one. The 1st referee awarded a delay sanction, but allowed the substitution.
Is this the correct response by the 1st referee?
Ruling
Not correct. In competitions where numbered paddles are in use, the substitute player must enter the substitution zone with the correct paddle.
Otherwise this causes confusion for the scorer, the team and the public – and will likely create a delay.
Thus, the request for substitution by the team must be rejected, and a delay sanction must be awarded.
Rules 15.10.3.1, 16.1.1, 16.2
If a substitute steps into the substitution zone just as the whistle sounds for service, should the 2nd referee permit the substitution?
Ruling
No. The substitution should not be permitted.
Generally, this situation is a typical case of an improper request: reject and allow the game to continue if the game has not been stopped and it was the first improper request for this team.
However, if the game has been stopped due to this request it should be considered as a delay and a sanction for delay will result.
The same delay sanction should be applied if it was a repeated improper request by this team -which is considered as delay.
Rules 15.10.3.1, 15.11.1.1, 15.11.3, 16.2
Player #8 entered the substitution zone with paddle #10. The coach insisted on the substitution with #9.
After a short discussion, the 2nd referee rejected the substitution and the team was sanctioned with a delay warning.
Was the decision correct?
Ruling
The decision was correct. The substitution of #8 and #10 would have been legal. However, the coach insisted on the substitution of #8 for #9. Because the wrong paddle was shown and this caused a delay, the referee correctly sanctioned the team for delay. Substitution should be rejected.
Rules 16.1.1, 16.2
In a competition where full technology was operating, substitution paddles were not used. Is this correct procedure?
Ruling
Yes.
The paddles permit only limited player shirt numbers, while in FIVB, World and Official Competitions for Seniors extended numbers are used within the roster. In addition, the bench tablets allow the teams to transmit the numbers of the substituting players in advance. Hence, in those competitions paddles are not required.
Rule 15.10.3.1
A player became injured and had to be substituted exceptionally. During the same game interruption, the team requested an additional substitution. The 2nd referee accepted the request.
Was the 2nd referee’s decision correct to accept the request?
Ruling
Yes, the decision was correct.
The first player had to be substituted by an exceptional substitution due to injury. The team still had the right to REQUEST a substitution in the same interruption.
Rule 15.7
Player #6 of team ‘A’ was disqualified from the
match, and legally substituted by #7. This was the
first substitution for team ‘A’ during the set, and
there were three more players on the bench.
During the next rally, team ‘A’ player #7 became injured and was not able to continue to play.
How should the game be continued?
Ruling
Since the injured player #7 cannot be substituted legally, he/she should be substituted exceptionally.
Rules 15.7,15.8
An expelled player could not be replaced by a legal substitution.
What options has the coach in this case?
Ruling
This rule was established to permit the match to continue, if possible, rather than ending it prematurely, and disappointing the spectators.
The coach has two possibilities here:
1. to carry out an exceptional substitution with the expelled player or
2. surrendering the set to the opponent because the team is “incomplete”.
If the option 1 is chosen, the expelled player (who could normally return in the next set) is forbidden to re-enter the match. But the set continues.
If the option 2 is chosen, the team loses the set in progress but the expelled player can return in the next set.
Rule 15.8
A player listed on the line-up sheet was injured before the start of the match.
Can he be substituted before the match?
Ruling
Yes – but it should be shown formally by substitution signal (coach and 2nd referee so that everyone understands the situation) and must be recorded on the score sheet as a regular substitution.
Nevertheless, in certain top-level competitions, special regulations could be applied allowing the player being replaced in the line-up without counting as a regular substitution. In this case, this regulation will be included in the Specific Competition Regulations in the Playbook.
Rules 7.3.2, 7.3.4
Player #7 of team ‘A’ was found to be on the court when he should have been on the bench. Team ‘A’ had used the allowable six team substitutions.
Since there were no legal substitutions remaining, what was the proper procedure to be used by the officials?
Ruling
Since team ‘A’ had an incorrect line-up, which was caused by an illegal substitution, the procedure given in Rule 15.9.2 should be the following:
a. Point and service for team ‘B’.
b. The substitution must be rectified. #7 has to be removed from the set and the correct player must return to the court. This correction does not count as regular substitution.
c. All points scored by team ‘A’ while #7 was in the game illegally must be cancelled, but the score of the opponent’s team will remain as it is.
d. There is no further penalty for team ‘A’.
Rule 15.9.2
After team ‘B’ had used five substitutions, two substitute players entered the substitution zone.
What is the proper response of the 2nd referee?
Ruling
The 2nd referee has to remind the coach that only one substitution will be possible and ask the coach which one will be made.
Provided there is no delay, the other substitution will be rejected as an improper request which is marked in the score sheet.
Rules 15.5, 15.6, 15.11, 16.1
A team requested two substitutions. When checking the substitutions, the scorer indicated that one of the requests for substitution was legal and the other request for substitution was illegal.
What is the proper response of the 2nd referee?
Ruling
The 2nd referee allows the legal substitution to take place. The illegal substitution must be refused no matter in which order the substitute players approach the side line.
The request for an illegal substitution must be sanctioned with a “delay sanction”.
Rules 15.6, 16.1.3
A team was refused a requested substitution by the scorer pressing the buzzer a second time. When the 2nd referee checked the score sheet, she discovered that the substitution was, in fact, “legal”, and “re-corrected” the situation. This was quite embarrassing.
What should have been the correct response of the 2nd referee?
Ruling
The procedure of the 2ndreferee was correct. If the referees realizes that one of them made a mistake, this mistake must be corrected, and the decision changed even if this causes an unfavorable impression about the referee team.
A substitute player was standing in the substitution zone, ready to enter. However, the player on court initially refused to leave the court. Is this delay?
Should the substitution be refused?
Ruling
Yes, it is delay.
However, the substitution THIS TIME should be allowed, because the request was legal according to the rules and the player in play caused this special case, and the substitute player did not cause the delay.
Rules 16.1.1, 23.2.3.
If a player in the line-up sheet does not match with the players on the court what does the 2nd referee do?
Ruling
The 2nd referee should show the line-up sheet to the coach and ask what he wants to do.
If the coach wishes to keep what is on court, he needs to make a legal substitution at 0:0. This is one of the situations, where the coach must give the hand signal to avoid misunderstandings.
The 2nd referee also must carry out this formally for public, statistics, etc. understanding of the situation.
Rules 7.3.5.2, 7.3.5.3
Player #6, ready to play, entered the substitution
zone during an interruption. The scorer acknowledged the request by using the buzzer. At
that moment the coach changed his/her mind and
ordered the player back into the warm-up area.
Should the substitution have been applied and what should have been the correct procedure?
Ruling
The request for substitution was correct and already acknowledged by the scorer in using the buzzer.
Due to the request, the game was stopped. It is not obligatory to apply the substitution, but the procedure caused a delay and should be sanctioned.
Rules 15.10.3.1, 15.10.3.3, 16.1.1
After the whistle for service, a substitute player entered the substitution zone. The scorer ignored this, and the game didn’t stop. After the end of the rally the 2nd referee told the scorer to record an improper request in the score sheet.
Was this the right procedure?
Ruling
The 2nd referee was correct. This was a typical case of an improper request, which had to be recorded in the score sheet. The 2nd referee should aware this to the coach. If this was a repeated improper request, a delay sanction must have been issued.
Rules 15.11.1.1, 15.11.2, 16.1.1
If a scorer presses the buzzer for substitution by
mistake (after the whistle for service/ player doesn’t enter the substitution zone), should the team be charged with an improper request?
Ruling
No, since the fault is made by the scorer, this should not be considered either as improper request or as a delay.
Rules 15.10.3.1, 15.10.3.3
An unregistered player was found to be on court.
What do the officials do?
Ruling
The coach and the team captain have the duty to control the registration of players and confirm it with their signature.
Unregistered players who have played in the match will be removed from the court as soon as this is discovered, in favor of a legitimate registered player.
All points scored while this unregistered player was on court will be cancelled, and the opponents will gain a point and the next service.
If the mistake is detected after the end of the set, the set would be lost by the team at fault. If the mistake is discovered after the end of the match, the whole match would be lost due to the unregistered player in the match.
To avoid this kind of situation, before each set the 2nd referee and the scorer must check if the players’ numbers listed on the line-up sheet correspond to the players’ numbers listed on the scoresheet.
Rules 4.1.3, 4.2.2, 5.1.1, 5.2.2, 7.3.5.4, 15.9.2
During an interruption, the receiving team ‘A’
requested a substitution. During this interruption, team ‘B’ was penalized, which caused team ‘A’ to rotate one position. After this, team ‘A’ requested a new substitution.
Is this possible?
Ruling
Yes. Because there was in fact a completed rally (as defined in the rules) between the two requests for substitution.
Rules 6.1.3, 15.2.3
At the control of the line-up, the 2nd referee detected that the number of the Libero was in the starting line- up. He asked the coach to correct the line-up sheet and informed the scorer about it. After this, the match started.
Was the procedure correct?
Ruling
Yes, the procedure was correct. In this case, the 2nd referee should ask the coach for a new and correct line-up sheet (which can be changed only in the position, where the Libero was recorded by mistake).
Once the corrected line up sheet has been checked against the line up on court, the 2nd referee will allow the Libero to enter the court.
Rule 7.3.5.2
A team requests a substitution, which is not
granted because of a wrong paddle. This action caused a delay penalty, because the team had already had a delay warning.
Can the team make a new request for substitution?
Ruling
Yes.
As penalties are considered as complete rallies, the new request can be accepted in this case.
Rule 6.1.3, 15.2.3
A team wished to apply a double substitution. One player entered the substitution zone ready to play; meanwhile, the other player was still looking for the numbered paddle. Before the finishing of administrative duties for the first substitution, he was already in place.
Was the procedure of the referees correct to allow both substitutions without intervention?
Ruling
Yes. The referees applied well the procedure of the multiple substitutions. If there is no real delay, the referees should be flexible.
This case is different to 4.2 above where the second player to enter was too far away from the substitution zone.
Refereeing Guidelines and Instructions
A substitute player wearing a warming up shirt entered the substitution zone with a numbered paddle. During the exchange on the side line, he reaIized this, pulled off the shirt and gave it to the player leaving the court.
Is it a legal procedure for a substitution?
Ruling
No. A substitute player should be ready to play in the moment of the request for substitution. A player wearing a warming up shirt cannot be considered being ready to play; therefore, this request has to be denied and a delay sanction is to be issued.
Rules 15.10.3.1, 15.10.3.2
Time out duration is set at 30 seconds.
Can this be adjusted?
Ruling
Yes. The duration of time outs can be adjusted according to the needs of the competition. If using e- score, the clock can be set accordingly.
Rule 15.4.1
Can a team request a substitution before AND after a time out, all taking place in the same interruption in play?
Ruling
No – while two Time outs can be called by the same team in the same interruption, two successive substitution requests are NOT allowed and the second one should be considered as an improper request.
Rules 15.3.1, 15.3.2, 15.10.3.1, 15.11.1.3, 27.2.2.6
A coach made a third request for time-out, which was granted by the 2nd referee. At that moment the scorer realized that it was the third time-out for this team and notified the 2nd referee about this.
What is the proper procedure for the officials?
Ruling
Normally this is an improper request – but here an actual delay occurred. So reject or immediately curtail the time-out. Players return to court. The Game Captain is informed of the actual delay and a delay sanction is applied.
Rules 15.11.1.4, 16.1.5, 27.2.2.6
Is it possible to have an improper request AFTER the team has already been awarded a DELAY warning or penalty?
Ruling
Yes, it is.
While unusual, a delay can be followed by an improper request – it is not an escalation of the delay!
The rule regarding improper requests and the rule for delay are both quite specific in what constitutes an improper request/ what constitutes a delay. So that, even if the team has already been sanctioned for delay, some actions are ONLY improper requests and are not combined within the earlier delay.
Rule 15.5, 16.1
Is it allowed to request a Time-out or “normal” player substitution, if a request for game interruption has already been rejected and sanctioned with a delay warning?
Ruling
No.
In such a situation the team has to wait until the end of the next completed rally for the next request for game interruption.
If the team still makes a request, it should not be considered as an improper request, just the team should be reminded of this.
Rule 15.2.4, Refereeing Guidelines and Instructions
Can a player play with a nose bleed?
Ruling
No.
Referees must use discretion if an injury occurs in which a player bleeds. If an immediate medical treatment does not rectify the injury, he/she must be substituted or replaced until the bleeding is stopped and the blood is removed from the player’s uniform.
A substitute player must be permitted a reasonable time to take off his/her training suit and enter the game.
It is an acceptable procedure by the 1st referee to give neither a delay sanction nor to ask the team for a game interruption.
Rules 4.4, 15.5, 15.10.2, 15.10.3.1, 17.1.1
A Libero injured his hand while playing defense. After a short therapy, the Libero declared that he was able to play again. The referee then signaled to continue the match with him.
Was this the correct decision by the 1st referee?
Ruling
The decision of the 1streferee was correct. For the safety of the player, the 1st referee must stop the rally immediately when an injury occurs and permit the team doctor and/or medical assistance to enter the court.
If the injury appears to be serious and severe enough, the player should be removed from the court for his/her safe recovery.
The principle decision by the 1st referee is to give the player or/and the team doctor a reasonable time to know the seriousness of the injury, yet to limit the time before the substitution is required.
Rules 15.7, 17.1.2
An accident occurs at the moment of a substitution, which causes the substitute player’s nose to bleed.
What is the correct procedure?
Ruling
First of all the referee should request medical assistance. It is necessary to stop the game. If the player cannot recover, the substitution can be cancelled or another substitute player may be chosen by the team.
Since the game has not been resumed, the substitution is not confirmed.
Rules 15.2.3, 15.7
The team captain is injured before the start of the
match.
How should the situation be handled?
Ruling
The process is determined by the moment of the injury. The main principle is written in rule 4.1.3, when the score sheet has been signed by captains and coaches, i.e. after the toss, the team has no right to change the team roster (except, when the Libero is injured, has no chance to play and the coach wants to re-designate the original team captain as the new Libero).
Based on this if the injury of the team captain occurred before the toss and he/she cannot play, the coach should designate a new team captain, putting a stripe under the number and circling the player's number in the score sheet. This new team captain will have all duties and rights (i.e. represents his/her team at the toss).
If the original team captain's injury occurred after the toss, the coach has no right to designate another player as team captain. However, the coach should designate a "general game captain" who takes the rights and duties of the original team captain and signs the score sheet after the match.
In both situations the fact of the injury should be recorded in the score sheet.
Rule 4.1.3, 5.1, 5.2.1, 5.2.2
What is the correct procedure, if an injured player is not able to complete the substitution formally through the substitution zone? (e.g. carried off the court)?
Ruling
In order, that the substitution is clear for everybody, the substitute player should take the numbered paddle of the injured player and enter the substitution zone. The 2nd referee should be given the paddle to return it to the team.
Rules 15.10.1, 17.1.1
Mid-rally, two Japanese players fall to the floor. This probably denies the opponent team from winning the rally.
Should the referees stop the rally instantly?
Ruling
According to the latest guidelines, unless there is a danger of further injury or injury to other players, the referees should pause to determine if there really is an injury before interrupting the rally.
Rule: 17.1.1
The player in the right side team realises that his team will probably lose the rally, and falls to the floor.
What is the best way for the referees to treat this situation?
Ruling
The most up to date guidance to referees is that they should only interrupt the rally if there is a blood injury or a trauma and there is clear danger that the player would suffer additional injury or cause injury to teammates. Since rallies often last no more than 5 seconds, a short pause before automatically whistling might prevent future occurrences.
Obvious fakes should be treated as misconduct.
Rule: 17.1.1
Prior to the start of the third set of a match, the 1st referee whistled the teams to enter the court. One team did not react. When they were too slow to respond, the 1st referee issued a delay warning to them. The team then entered the court.
Was this the appropriate action by the 1st referee?
Ruling
Yes, the 1st referee acted correctly.
The teams must be summoned to take their positions on the court. If they do not react, the 1st referee must issue a delay warning to them. If the team still did not react, a delay penalty would have been given. If this also proved to be ineffective, it would have been judged a refusal to play, the team would have been declared to be in default and the match would have been forfeited. In such a case, the score would have been recorded as 0:3 (0:25, 0:25, 0:25).
If a team is returning slowly to the court after a time-out, the same procedure should be followed.
Rules 6.4.1, 16.1
Will a team be sanctioned for delay if it forms a
huddle on court?
Ruling
There is no requirement for the 1st referee to allow more than a reasonable time for the players to move to their positions for the next rally.
However, he must allow for appropriate enthusiasm and cheering but cannot allow the game to be delayed.
The 1st referee should urge the team to take their position. If he/she realizes that the players use this behavior as a tactic for delaying the game consistently, the team should be sanctioned by delay.
In major competitions, a 15 seconds count down clock is used to regulate the time between rallies; however, when using the clock, the server should always be permitted the 8 seconds after the referee’s whistle to initiate the service action.
Rules 16.1.2, 16.1.5
A player refused to play because of a wet place on the floor caused by a team member diving for a ball.
What is the proper response of the 1st referee?
Ruling
Common sense is the key factor here.
It is the 1st referee’s responsibility to decide upon the mopping requests by the players, if they are obviously delaying the game, and, if necessary, to issue a delay sanction for these actions.
When the 1st referee deems it necessary to mop the floor by the moppers, he/she may give the order. The control of the match is always by the decision of the 1st referee.
Rules 1.5, 5.1.2.2, 6.4.1, 16.2
During an interval between two sets, an entire team went to their locker room and returned after 5 minutes. The 1st referee issued a delay sanction, and the game was continued.
Was this an appropriate reaction of the referee?
Ruling
Firstly, a team is not allowed to leave the competition area without permission of the referees.
Nevertheless, after two and a half minutes, the 2nd referee should go to the team and remind them to enter the court immediately so as not to be declared in default. After they are back on the court, the 1st referee should issue a delay sanction.
Rules 4.2, 6.4.1, 6.4.2, 18.1
What is the correct response of the 1st referee if spectators interrupt the match?
Ruling
The 1st referee should stop the match and the organizer or the FIVB Technical Delegate should take steps to re-establish the order. This interruption should be recorded on the score sheet.
Rules 17.2, 17.3
During the 4th set, when the score was 27-27, first referee penalized the libero player of team white with a red card for her rude conduct towards the 1st referee (score now 27-28 for the team in black).
After the decision of the 1st referee, the coach of team white did not want to continue the game and took the team out of the court as a protest against the original decision of the 1st referee to penalize the libero. After this reaction of the coach, the 1st referee showed a red card to the team coach, and this finished the set and the match.
Was the first referee’s decision correct?
Ruling
The red card decision given by the 1st referee is not correct.
The referee should have invited the captain of the team that refused to continue the game to the referee’s chair and asked her to bring the team to the playing court for the continuation of the match.
If the team did not react to the invitation of the referee and still refuses to play, the referee should have sanction the team with either first using a delay or a default sanction.
Rules 1.5, 5.1.2.2, 6.4.1, 16.2
After a player’s dig in the free zone behind the end line, directing the ball back into court, the ball hit the crane camera which had penetrated into the playing space. The referees should stop the game.
How should the 1st referee consider this action - as “OUT” or as “external interference”?
Ruling
Within the playing area the players have the priority to play. If the ball hits an outside object or a person penetrating from outside the playing area, e.g. the crane TV camera it should be considered as “external interference” and the rally should be replayed.
On the video the Libero was about to play the ball and continue the rally, but the crane camera prevented him to do it. This should be considered as an "external interference" and the rally was to be replayed.
Had the dig been misdirected towards the spectators, with no player able to play it, the referee will not judge this as external interference but ball OUT.
Rule 17.2
A middle spiker during the preparation for attack lost one shoe, which fell down in the front zone. He spiked the ball then the team lost the rally. After finishing the rally the middle spiker requested to take back the shoe. The referees did not intervene either during or after the rally.
How should referees correctly handle such a situation?
Ruling
The main principle is the security of the players. If the referees judge that the shoe, part of the player’s equipment, creates a dangerous object, they should stop the game.
Because it was obvious that the player did not lose the shoe intentionally, his request to take it back cannot be considered as a delay.
Rule 17.2
If a player, running to play the ball, clashes into the referee’s chair, should the rally automatically be interrupted and replayed?
Ruling
No.
The referee should judge if this clash has an influence on his/her activity, or caused an injury to the player.
If the referee cannot continue the work normally, the rally should be stopped and replayed. If there is no interference due to the clash, let the rally be continued without any interruption.
Rule 17.2
After the video review, fans of the losing team moved to the side of the court to demonstrate their disapproval of the result.
How should the referees respond?
Ruling
In this instance, the 2nd referee in particular reacted coolly according to our guidelines about smooth refereeing, and gently guided the spectators back to their seats. Should the demonstration be larger, the referees are empowered to stop the match and request that the organizers restore order.
Rule: 23.2.3
During the game, due to an inattentive ball retriever, a second ball rolls onto the court. The situation was not realized by either the 1st referee, or the 2nd referee. After the rally finished, the 1st referee decided to replay due to external interference.
Was it a correct decision?
Ruling
No, it was not a correct decision.
Because the ball entered the court in the very last moment of the rally causing no interference with the game nor risk of injury to the players.
The main principle is the security of the players. Therefore, if the referees realize that a second ball is on the court or is about to roll onto the court, they should interrupt the rally.
If the second ball was sent onto the court intentionally by a team member, the philosophy should be the same, but this action must be considered as an aggressive action, leading to the disqualification of the team member.
As mentioned on case 8.2, if according to the judgement of the 1st referee there is a dangerous situation or a real influence on the continuation of the game, he should stop the game immediately and replay the rally.
On the other hand, if the rally is already finished or there is no influence on the outcome, there is no need to judge a replay.
Referees must be able to distinguish between these 2 separate situations.
Rule 17.2
The coach intercepted the attack hit of the opponent, close to the side line, in such a way that there was doubt about whether the ball would have landed in or out.
What should the 1st referee do in this instance?
Ruling
An attack hit which hits the opponent coach in the free zone is out, according to the rules.
However, where the coach intercepts the ball close to the line and the referees/ line judge are unable to determine the final landing point due to the interception, the ball must be considered ball IN and the coach must receive a verbal Warning.
In case of a precedent sanction he/she must be given a heavier sanction according to Sanction Scale.
Rule 17.2