The 2nd referee told a coach not to talk with or distract the scorer.
Is this a correct action by the 2nd referee?
Ruling
Yes, this is correct by the 2nd referee.
In the spirit of smooth refereeing, if such situations can be resolved by the 2nd referee without formality, this should be done.
Can a reserve player sit on the floor in the warm-up area instead of standing or stretching?
Ruling
Yes, Players are not required to stand in the warm-up area. On the other hand, players may not sit on benches, chairs, rails or walls in the warm-up area, unless for an special reason permitted by the FIVB Technical Delegate.
Rules 4.2.1, 4.2.3, 24.2.4, 24.2.5
Can a coach ask the scorer for information about the number of time-outs that had been taken by the other team?
Ruling
The scorer should not respond to the coach.
Generally, coaches are not permitted to ask the scorers for any information.
However, where an electronic scoreboard is used, but the number of used game interruptions is not-indicated, the coaches have the right to ask the scorer for this information, but only about their own team and at a time which is neither distracting to the scorer nor delaying the match.
Rule 27.2.2
Can a captain make a formal protest on the score sheet if he has not notified the referee of his intention during the match?
Ruling
If at the time of any incident, the game captain made no mention of a protest, he cannot make a written protest on the score sheet at the end of the match.
Rules 5.1.2.1, 5.1.3.2, 23.2.4
Can a refereeing decision be reversed even after the end of the set?
Ruling
Yes. Up to the start of the next set, referees are allowed to correct their decisions immediately concerning the application of the rules, if they realize they were mistaken. The match score will be corrected as appropriate.
After a request for a third time out was refused as an improper request, the coach changed her mind and sent a player for substitution.
Is this allowed?
Ruling
Provided there was no whistle for service, the request for substitution should have been allowed as proper – only the time out was improper. However, the improper request for time-out should be recorded on the score sheet.
Rules 15.1, 15.2.1, 15.11, 16.1, 16.2, 24.2.6, 24.2.7
During a time-out a coach met with his entire team in the very back corner of the free zone near the warm- up zone.
Is this permitted?
Ruling
The team must “go to the free zone near their bench” during a time-out and the 2nd referee should tell the team to do so.
Rule 15.4.2
The assistant coach came to the side line to assist the players to find a wet spot.
The 1st referee called the game captain and told him/her to tell the assistant coach to stay on the bench.
Did the 1st referee make a correct decision?
Ruling
The decision of the 1st referee was correct. The assistant coach is allowed to sit on the bench and may not intervene in the match. Only the coach may walk near the side line.
Rules 5.2.3.4, 5.3.1
After a rally a coach asked the 2nd referee if his server was correct. The 2nd referee checked the rotational order with the scorer and replied that the correct player was ready to serve. The 1st referee continued the match.
Is this the correct process of the referees?
Ruling
Although the only team member allowed to speak with the referees is the game captain, this short interaction between the coach and the 2nd referee do not affect the game at all. Thus, the 2nd referee may answer certain request from the coach in favor of the smooth refereeing.
Refereeing Guidelines & Instructions…. Rule 5.1.2
Has the 1st referee the right to whistle positional fault at the receiving team?
Ruling
No.
The 1st referee must NOT whistle this fault because he/she cannot see this fault at the exactly moment it is committed!
However, the 1st referee has the right to overrule the decision of any member of the refereeing team on the match.
Rule 23.2.1.