The team’s setter from position 1 was standing clearly in front of player position 2, but jumped at the moment before the service hit.
Is this a legal position?
Ruling
Fault. When players jump from the floor, they retain the position that they had from their last contact with the floor. Therefore, while the back row player was in the air, the point of his last contact with the floor was retained.
Rules 7.4, 7.4.2, 7.4.3
If the foot of a player on court is in contact with the opponent court at the service hit, is this a fault?
Ruling
No.
This situation should only be considered when a player penetrates into the opponent’s court over the center line during the rally.
Rules 1.3.3, 7.4
A team was given incorrect information about which player was to serve. Play continued. This incorrect information was noticed at a later point in the set. What happens now?
Ruling
The teams must revert to as close to their original line-up as possible.
The score reverts to the point where the wrong information was given. The correct server is allowed to serve. However, the already issued warnings / sanctions remain valid.
This event must be recorded on the score sheet.
The teams were not ready to play because five (5) or seven (7) players were on court when the 1st referee was ready to whistle for service.
What should have occurred?
Ruling
The 1st referee should whistle for service when he/she is sure that the teams are ready to play and that the server is in possession of the ball. There must always be 6 players per team in play.
Because the 1st referee noticed the mistake before he/she whistled for service, he/she must award a delay sanction to the team at fault. The next team to serve depends on the type of delay sanction.
But if the 1st referee still whistled for service when only 5 or 7 players were on court, he/she must stop the rally immediately and replay without any sanction.
If the situation is discovered after the end of the next rally, the result of this rally should be cancelled and replayed without any sanction.
If nobody discovered the situation, or did so after the start of the next rally, the rally played with 5 (or 7) players of a team cannot be replayed.
Rules 7.3.1., 7.5, 12.3, 12.4.3
After a service, which was executed by the wrong server, the ball went out. When the rally was finished, the scorer signalled the rotational fault. How many points do the receiving team receive?
Ruling
Only a single point should be awarded, due to the rotational fault, regardless of which team “won” the rally.
Rule 7.7.1.1
If the foot of a player on court is in contact with the free zone at the service hit, is this a fault?
Ruling
Yes, fault, because in the moment of the service hit all players except the server must be within their own court. Consequently, it is a fault for a player on court to be in contact with the free zone in the moment of service.
Rules 1.3.3, 7.4
At the service hit, for the receiving team, the player in position 1 had the heel of his rear foot (relative to the centre line) level with the toe of the front foot of the position 2 player. How should the 2nd referee respond?
Ruling
The 2nd referee should do nothing. This is a legal position according to the modified rules 2021-24.
The team commit a positional fault, if any player is not in his/her correct position at the moment the ball is hit by the server.
To try to reduce the number of positional calls by referees and to reflect the current reality of 2nd row players switching positions, referees in particular need only whistle if a back row player is completely in front of the corresponding front row player at the service hit. Feet on the ground determine the position
Rule 7 Item 5, Rules 1.3.3, 7.4.3.1, 7.5.2