Endeavor - about the show

Details about our ongoing Star Trek-themed radio drama

Endeavor is a continuing series of radio plays set in the Star Trek universe.

It was conceived, written and produced by Matt Rowbotham and Ron “AAlgar” Watt. Since October 2010, the pair have co-hosted The Post Atomic Horror, currently the only podcast to have reviewed the entirety of Star Trek, from the original unaired pilot through the current series. Over the course of this effort they realized that, while they both still very much enjoy Trek, there are many things they want from a series that they haven't seen enough of. Between their exhaustive critical analysis of the entire franchise, their many years of experience writing and producing audio fiction (most notably the radio dramedies associated with Sarcastic Voyage) and their access to exceptional voice talent, they felt qualified to take a stab at their own version of a perfect Star Trek series.

The series will heavily emphasize the "bright and hopeful" aspect of Trek, something its creators feel has been missing for quite some time. This is not to say that they intend to adopt Gene Roddenberry's infamous "no conflict" directive from the earliest days of The Next Generation. But, broadly speaking, the tone of the work is intended to reflect a general optimism for humanity's future, which they feel is needed in the current political climate more than ever.

A special emphasis is also being put on diversity and inclusion, issues that Trek (typically seen as progressive) has had some trouble handling, even in recent years. It is their hope to feature a number of characters from across the LGBTQ+ spectrum, as well as other often marginalized groups who have made little or no appearances in the franchise to date. As the assorted alien races of the Federation are typically meant to stand in for real-world cultures, they will also be working to depict a truly diverse crew that steers clear of the sometimes-problematic coded casual racism of a more human-centric approach.

The story is set about 20 years after the end of Voyager, and focuses on a joint Federation/Klingon/Romulan/Cardassian mission to explore the (relatively speaking) nearby Andromeda Galaxy. Episodes will be set entirely in this new territory, largely steering clear of familiar faces and situations from other series.

One character from an earlier series — Naomi Wildman from Voyager — does appear as one of Endeavor's principals. However, she is 20 years older than the child depicted in that series, and is effectively a completely distinct adult character. We are currently in the process of casting this role. Joining her in the principal cast is Jason Wallace as Kutch, a Tellarite security officer; and Dal Lacerto (also still being cast), a Cardassian xenoanthropologist who joined Starfleet after the Dominion War. Rounding out the cast are a number of performers from the Sarcastic Voyage stable who, for the first time, will be compensated for their time and talent.

An initial season of 10 episodes, releasing monthly, is currently planned. If these episodes are well-received, further seasons will likely follow. The extended-length premiere episode, entitled “New Life,” is scheduled to drop on 1 March 2019, with exclusive early access being given to Patreon donors a week early. Further episodes will release on the first of each month, with similar advanced access for patrons.

Endeavor is not being produced for profit, and all concepts herein are property of CBS and/or Paramount (or whoever the actual copyright holder of this material is). Please don't sue us; we're just doing this for fun.

Credits - S01E01 - “New Life”

Vishal Bharadwaj - Admiral Kabeer Saraiya

Mark Boszko - Announcer

Kristy Brannon - P.A. voice

Brian Lynch - D.K. Charles

Kara O'Connor - Lt. Commander Naomi Wildman

Josef Ravenson - Lt. Kutch

Matt Rowbotham - Woodwarp

Nicole Santora - Seven of Nine

Amanda Smith - Lt. Dal Lacerto

Jason Wallace - Lt. Kutch

Ron “AAlgar” Watt - Bernstar

Written by Ron “AAlgar” Watt & Matt Rowbotham with Gav Drury.

Original theme and additional music by Rich DeThorne.

Special thanks to Gav Brown, Nathan LaJeunesse and Amanda Smith.

Production copyright ©2019 AAlgar Productions.