First Citizen's Bank Scholars Medal

Nomination Opens: Annually in August/September

Deadline: November 8, 2019

Application link: Online Nomination Form

Contact: Christi Skerlak, Executive Assistant to the Dean

The First Citizens Bank Scholars Medal was first awarded in 1988 and recognizes outstanding scholarship, creativity, and research among senior full-time faculty members. Each year the University, with support from First Citizens Bank, presents this award in order to recognize and foster the advancement and diffusion of knowledge and creative endeavors.


The recipients are honored annually at a spring ceremony and reception presided over by the Chancellor, officials of First Citizens Bank, and other University officers. They are presented with a framed citation, a medal, and cash prize.


Nominations must focus on the excellence and importance of sustained contributions in research and creative activities, including work done over a substantial period of time at UNC Charlotte. Relevant research and creative activities include scientific discoveries, books, a series of related articles, novels, sculptures, or paintings.

Required nomination materials should consist of the following:

  1. Nominator’s letter, clearly specifying the scholarly or creative accomplishments at UNC Charlotte and their significance.

2. Three letters of support from professionals outside of UNC Charlotte who are qualified to evaluate the work of the nominee and provide an authoritative view.

3. The letter of nomination should include a brief biography (two-three sentences) of each of the letter writers indicated in number 2, above.

4. Nominee’s current curriculum vitae.

Optional supportive materials (such as books or journal articles) should be kept to one or two representative examples. If included, they may be physically dropped off to Christi Skerlak in the Graduate School, 210 Cato Hall.

Selection Process:

Nominations for the 2020 award are due November 8, 2019, by 5:00 p.m. Submit the letter of nomination and all supporting documentation electronically by completing the online nomination form.

The selection committee is comprised of UNC Charlotte faculty.

Award recipients are announced early spring.


  • 2019: Dr. Steven Rogelberg, Psychological Science and Management
  • 2018: Dr. Pinku Mukherjee, Biological Sciences
  • 2017: Dr. Robert Algozzine, Educational Leadership
  • 2016: Dr. John David Smith, History
  • 2015: Dr. William Ribarsky, Computer Science
  • 2014: Dr. Craig Ogle, Chemistry
  • 2013: Dr. Lawrence Calhoun and Dr. Richard Tedeschi, Psychology
  • 2012: Dr. Jonathan Marks, Anthropology
  • 2011: Dr. Roslyn A. Mickelson, Sociology
  • 2010: Dr. Lyman L. Johnson, History
  • 2009: Dr. Diane M. Browder, Special Education and Child Development
  • 2008: Dr. Bruce A. Arrigo, Criminal Justice and Criminology
  • 2007: Dr. Kenneth Bost, Biology
  • 2006: Dr. Tanure Ojaide, Africana Studies
  • 2005: Dr. Mark G. Clemens, Biology
  • 2004: Dr. David T. Test, Special Education and Child Development
  • 2003: Dr. Murray A. Webster, Jr., Sociology and Anthropology
  • 2002: Dr. Rafic Z. Makki, Electrical and Computer Engineering
  • 2001: Dr. Martha A. Strawn, Art
  • 2000: Dr. Robert J. Hocken, Mechanical Engineering and Engineering Science
  • 1999: Dr. Donna R. Gabaccia, History
  • 1998: Dr. Daniel L. Shealy, English
  • 1997: Dr. Owen J. Furuseth, Geography and Earth Sciences
  • 1996: Dr. Zbigniew Michalewicz, Computer Science
  • 1995: Dr. Farid M. Tranjan, Electrical and Computer Engineering
  • 1994: Dr. Saul Brenner, Political Science
  • 1993: Dr. Thomas L. Reynolds, Biology
  • 1992: Dr. Gerald F. Pyle, Geography and Earth Sciences
  • 1991: Dr. Judith D. Suther, Foreign Languages, and Dr. K. David Patterson, History
  • 1990: Dr. Bryan E. Robinson, Human Services
  • 1989: Dr. David R. Goldfield, History, and Dr. James D. Oliver, Biology
  • 1988: Dr. Paul D. Escott, History, and Dr. D. Paul Rillema, Chemistry