Home‎ > ‎

clndr test 2

A test page for Kite Events Calendars. There does not seem to be a 'perfect' calendar that suits all needs for all people. Every format has good points and bad points. This page is an attempt to sort out some pro's and con's. Poke around, scroll down, and see what works best for you.

The easiest way to put up a Calendar is a simple list of events.A simple list is also a great way to make sure that all events get listed.
First, a simple list of major, and some minor, events in alphabetical order, You will notice that there are several events that do not have dates listed yet. Another thing to notice is that regular, local, Club events are not on this list. Those tend to be easy to find, and so do not make this particular list.

Start Event End
Tue, Oct 8, 19 AKA Convention, Seaside, OR Sat, Oct 12, 19
Sat, May 4, 19 Atlantic Coast Kite Festival, Virginia Beach Sun, May 5, 19
Sat, Feb 2, 19 Barrie WinterFest Kites on Ice Sun, Feb 3, 19
Sat, Jul 27, 19 Berkeley Kite Festival, Berkeley, CA Sat, Jul 27, 19
Sat, Mar 30, 19 Blossom Kite Festival, Washington, DC
hiatus for 2019 Blue Ridge Kite Festival, Green Hill Park, Salem, VA
Sat, May 18, 19 Bug Light Kite Festival, South Portland, ME Sun, May 19, 19
Thu, Oct 31, 19 Burlington, VT Fun Fly and Pot Luck Mon, Sep 2, 19
Sat, Nov 2, 19 Cape Fear Kite Festival, Fort Fisher, NC Sun, Nov 3, 19
Sat, Sep 7, 19 Capriccio Kite Festival, Ogunquit, ME
Sat, Oct 26, 19 Carolina Kite Fest, Atlantic Beach, NC Sun, Oct 27, 19
Cherry Valley Kite Festival - biannual even years
Cleveland International Kite Festival - August
Coney Island Kite Festival
East Meets West Kite & Cultural Fest
Sat, Jun 1, 19 Fort Ontario,Oswego NY (Madeline Fest)
Thu, Mar 14, 19 Fort Worden Kitemakers Conference Sun, Mar 17, 19
Tue, Jun 18, 19 Franklin Park Kite Festival, Boston, MA
Hank’s Kites & Critters Day KONE
Harvest Festival of the Arts Kite Festival
Hoosier Monthly Kite Fly August
Mon, Apr 1, 19 Ivanpah Buggy Expo Fri, Apr 5, 19
Mon, May 13, 19 Jekyll Island Buggy Expo Fri, May 17, 19
Fri, May 31, 19 Junction Kitemakers Retreat Mon, Jun 3, 19
Keene Valley
Kite Komotion
Sat, Feb 2, 19 Kite Mania, Treasure Island, FL Sun, Feb 3, 19
Kites Against Cancer, Hampton Beach, NH
Sat, Apr 13, 19 Kites at the Pier, Long Branch, NJ Sun, Apr 14, 19
Sat, Oct 12, 19 LBI International Kite Festival Mon, Oct 14, 19
Marblehead Festival of Arts Kite Day
Marthas Vineyard Kite Festival
Fri, Apr 26, 19 MASKC/MIKE, Ocean City, MD Sun, Apr 28, 19
Sat, Aug 31, 19 Mile High Kite Festival, Beech Mountan, NC Mon, Sep 2, 19
Milford Living Kite Fly, Walnut Beach, Milford, CT
Fri, Feb 15, 19 MKS Kitemakers Retreat, Ellicott City, MD Mon, Feb 18, 19
Sat, Jul 13, 19 Newport Kite Festival, Brenton Point, Newport, RI Sun, Jul 14, 19
Sat, Mar 9, 19 Nor'Easters Workshop, Ogunquit, ME
Outer Banks Sport Kite Competition
Ralph J. Pecchia Kite Day, Brenton Point, Newport, RI
Revere Beach Kite Festival, Revere, MA
Rogallo Kite Festival, Nags Head, NC
Sailwinds, Cambridge, MD
Thu, Jan 31, 19 South Padre Island Kite Fest, SPI, TX Sat, Feb 2, 19
Sun, Apr 21, 19 Spartanburg Soaring International Kite Fest
Thu, Jun 13, 19 St. Honoré International Kite Festival Sun, Jun 16, 19
STEM Aviation and Maritime Expo
Tue, Jun 18, 19 Stone Quarry Hill Art Park, Cazenovia, NY
Strawberry Fields Kite Festival, Ontario, Canada
Fri, Sep 20, 19 Sunfest, Ocean City, MD Mon, Sep 23, 19
Sat, Jan 19, 19 Treasure Island Kite Festival Sun, Jan 20, 19
Fri, Mar 1, 19 Upper Midwest Kitemaking Event (UMAKE) Sun, Mar 3, 19
Sat, Nov 9, 19 Veterans Day Kite Festival, Treasure Island, FL Sun, Nov 10, 19
Mon, Aug 19, 19 Washington State Int’l Kite Festival, Long Beach, WA Sun, Aug 25, 19
Sat, Jun 1, 19 Watson Farm Kite Day, 455 North Road, Jamestown, RI
Wildwood Buggy Bash
Sat, May 25, 19 Wildwoods International Kite Festival Mon, May 27, 19
Wright Kite Festival - July

So, we can see that it is valuable to have a list of the events that many kiters want to attend. Below is another list that is in roughly chronological order. Many events have not yet posted dates for 2019. Maintaining a kite calendar, or a club we page, requires constant vigilance. 

Event Start End
CTKiters Annual Meeting - French Club, Meriden, CT 13-Jan
Treasure Island Kite Festival, Treasure Island, FL 20-Jan
South Padre Island Kite Fest, South Padre Island, TX 31-Jan 2-Feb
Kite Mania, Treasure Island, FL 2-Feb 3-Feb
Barrie WinterFest Kempenfelt Bay, Barrie, Ontario, Canada 2-Feb 3-Feb
ConnectiKITERS Feb Workshop, Masonicare, Wallingford, CT 10-Feb
MKS Kitemakers Retreat, Ellicott City, MD 15-Feb 18-Feb
UMAKE - Upper Midwest Kitemaking Event, Oregon, IL  1-Mar 3-Mar
KONE Annual Meeting & Pot Luck, Reuben Hoar Library, Littleton, MA 2-Mar
Nor'Easters Spring Workshop, Ogunquit, ME 9-Mar
CTKiters March Workshop, Masonicare, Wallingford, CT 10-Mar
Kites at the Pier, Long Branch, NJ 13-Mar 14-Mar
Cogswell's Grant Kite Day, Essex, MA 13-Mar
Fort Worden Kitemakers Conference, Stanwood, WA 14-Mar 17-Mar
CTKiters April Showers Fly, Hammonasset, Madison, CT 14-Mar
KONE St. Patrick’s Day Fly, Hampton Beach, NH 16-Mar
Blossom Kite Festival, Washington, D.C. 30-Mar
Ivanpah Buggy eXpo, Ivanpah Dry Lake Recreation Area, NV 1-Apr 5-Apr
KONE Spring Fling, Ft. Williams, South Portland, ME 6-Apr
Blue Ridge Kite Festival, Green Hill Park, Salem, VA hiatus
Spartanburg Soaring International Kite Fest, Spartanburg, SC 20-Apr
Fruitlands Kite Day, Fruitland Museum, Harvard, MA 20-Apr
STEM Aviation and Maritime Expo, Logan Airport, Boston, MA
MASKC/MIKE, Ocean City, MD 26-Apr 28-Apr
Kite Komotion, Shipshewana, IN - April
Atlantic Coast Kite Festival, Virginia Beach, VA 4-May 5-May
Milford Living Kite Fly 12 PM– 3 PM, Walnut Beach, Milford, CT, May
KONE Back to the Beach Kite Festival, Nahant, MA
KONE Nahant Beach Fun Fly, Nahant, MA
Jekyll Island Buggy Expo - JIBE, Jekyll Island, Georgia 13-May 17-May
Bug Light Kite Festival, Bug Light, South Portland, ME 18-May 19-May
Stone Quarry Hill Art Park, Cazenovia, NY 18-May
Franklin Park Kite Festival, Franklin Park, Boston, MA 18-May
Great Lakes Kite Festival, Grand Haven, MI -  30th & final in 2018
CTKiters May Flowers Fly, Harkness, Waterford, CT 19-May
Kites Against Cancer, Hampton Beach, NH
Revere Beach Kite Festival, Revere, MA
Wildwoods Int’l Kite Festival, Wildwood, NJ, 32nd in 2018 24-May 27-May
27th Strawberry Fields Kite Festival - late May
Junction Kitemakers Retreat, Junction, TX 31-May 3-Jun
Fort Ontario, Oswego, NY - Madeline Festival 1-Jun
Watson Farm Kite Day, 455 North Road, Jamestown, RI 1-Jun
KONE Hank’s Kites & Critters Day
CTKiters Red, Hammonasset, Madison, CT, White and Blue Fly 9-Jun
St. Honoré International Kite Festival, St. Honoré, Québec, Canada 13-Jun 16-Jun
Rogallo Kite Festival, Nags Head, NC 30th 2018 - mid-June
Keene Valley Kite Fest, Marcy Field, Keene Valley, NY, 13th 
Red, White and Blue Kite Fest - July 4
Marblehead Festival of Arts Kite Day, Devereux Beach, Marblehead, MA-early July
KONE Bug Light RWB Fun Fly
Newport Kite Festival, Brenton Point, Newport, RI 13-Jul 14-Jul
Wright Kite Festival, Wright Brothers National Park, Kill Devil Hills, NC, 40th 2018
Summer Winds Kite Festival, Fort Taber, New Bedford, MA 27-Jul
Berkeley Kite Festival, Berkeley, CA 27-Jul 28-Jul
Ralph J. Pecchia Kite Day, Brenton Point, Newport, RI
KONE Pigs Can Fly,  Colt State Park, Bristol, RI
CTKiters August Fly, Harkness, Waterford, CT 11-Aug
Washington State Int’l Kite Festival, Long Beach, WA 19-Aug 25-Aug
Hoosier Monthly Kite Fly, Kokomo, IN 24-Aug
Cleveland International Kite Festival, Edgewater Park, Cleveland, OH
East Meets West Kite & Cultural Fest
Ralph J. Pecchia Kite Day & Picnic
Burlington Fun Fly and Pot Luck, Burlington, VT 31-Aug 2-Sep
Mile High Kite Festival, Beech Mountain, NC 31-Aug 2-Sep
Capriccio Kite Festival, Ogunquit, ME 7-Sep
Marthas Vineyard Kite Festival, Oak Bluffs, MA
CTKiters Harkness Day Pot Luck, Waterford, CT 8-Sep
Outer Banks Sport Kite Competition, Wright Brothers National Park, Kill Devil Hills, NC
KONE Bristol Fun Fly, Colt State Park, Bristol, RI
CTKiters Away Fly, Colt State Park, Bristol, RI 15-Sep
KONE Traction Fly, Lynn Causeway, Nahant, MA
Sunfest, Ocean City, MD 19-Sep 22-Sep
Cherry Valley Kite Festival, Cherry Valley, NY - biannual, even years, mid-Sept
Harvest Festival of the Arts Kite Festival, Lowville, NY
Coney Island Kite Festival, Coney Island, NY
LBI International Kite Festival, Ships Bottom, LBI, NJ 12-Oct 13-Oct
North Yarmouth Family Kite Day, North Yarmouth, Maine
Wildwood Buggy Bash, Wildwood, NJ
KONE Nahant Beach Fun Fly, Nahant, MA
CTKiters, Hammonasset, Madison, CT, One Sky, One World
AKA Convention, early October 8-Oct 12-Oct
Sailwinds, Cambridge, MD mid-October
Carolina Kite Fest, Atlantic Beach, NC, 31st 2018 26-Oct 27-Oct
Cape Fear Kite Festival, Fort Fisher, Kure Beach, NC 2-Nov 3-Nov
KONE Hampton Beach Holiday Fly, Hampton Beach, NH
Veterans Day Kite Festival, Treasure Island, FL 9-Nov 10-Nov
CTKiters Veterans Day Fly, Hammonasset, Madison, CT 10-Nov
CTKiters Christmas Party, Masonicare, Wallingford, CT 8-Dec
KONE Nahant Beach Fun Fly, Nahant, MA
Pigs Aloft Monthly Fly, VOA Museum, 8070 Tylersville Rd, West Chester, OH
CTKiters Annual Meeting, French Club, Meriden, CT 12-Jan
Pigs Aloft Monthly Fly, VOA Museum, 8070 Tylersville Rd, West Chester, OH 12-Jan
Treasure Island Kite Festival, Treasure Island, FL 19-Jan 20-Jan
Wildwoods International Kite Festival, Wildwood, NJ 22-May 25-May
Comments