The Local School Council was created by the Chicago School Reform Act of 1988. Local School Councils are in all Chicago Schools. The Local School Council consists of 6 parents, 2 community members, 2 teachers, 1 staff member, and the principal of the school. In high schools there is also a student representative on the council. Members are elected to their positions and serve a 2 year term. The exception to this is the high school student representative serving a 1 year term. Once elected the members are required to complete a mandatory training program.

The primary responsibility of the Local School Council is to select the school’s principal, renew the principal’s four year contract, approve the school’s budget for the school year and approve the CIWP (Continuous Improvement Working Plan).

Farnsworth LSC Members


Barbara Oken


Christina Hatley


Becky Bush

Parent Members

Shawn Fletcher

Patrick McCann

Eva Grabysar-Rodriguez

Vicki Tran

Community Members

Jim Oehler

Sally Usmani

School Members

Nancy Connolly

Rose Ann Loch

Staff Member

Lori Sechesan

2018 - 2019 Meeting Schedule

September 12

8:00 am

October 10

8:00 am

November 7

6:15 pm

December 12

8:00 am

January 9

8:00 am

February 13

6:15 pm

March 13

8:00 am

April 24

6:15 pm

May 15

8:00 am

June 12

8:00 am