Chaparral Theatre Awards

Chaparral High School Theatre Department is recognized as a leader in the state and in the nation. The production of Les Misérables received the Denver Center’s prestigious and inaugural Bobby G award for Overall Production. At the National Performing Arts Festival we were award the highest rating of Superior and asked perform at Disney World.  The CHS Encore Players were awarded the Judge's trophy at the National Performing Arts Festival also. 

Chaparral High School was proud to present main stage performances at the Colorado State Thespian Conference with their productions of Agatha Christie's Go Back for Murder and Cash On Delivery. The department was also selected for its production of Puck's Potion as an evening main stage performance at the 42nd annual International Thespian Conference. We have had many state and national critic's choice performers over the years through the Thespian Conferences.

Educational Theatre Association High School of the Year

Chaparral High School received one of the four Outstanding School Awards for 2016-2017 school year from the Educational Theatre Association.

Colorado Gold Honor Thespian Troupe

The Chaparral Thespian Society was named a 2016, 2017, 2018 and 2019 Colorado Gold Honor Troupe. It is an award program designed to honor Thespian Troupes not only for their outstanding productions, but also for a troupe's work in community service, outreach and original storytelling. 

Think 360 Arts named the Chaparral Performing and Visual Arts as a Colorado Outstanding Arts School.

“I am thrilled that Chaparral High School reaches so far to integrate the arts into numerous core subject areas, and has developed not only a strong theatre department, but a visual arts and music department that is top notch for their student population. The support by administrator Greg Gotchey, has been critical to maintaining such a rigorous and exceptional fine arts department within the district.” – Dr. Jay Seller, Executive Director of Think 360 Arts.

Denver Center For The Performing Arts “Bobby G” Awards

Outstanding Overall Production of a Musical – Les Misérables 

Chris Maclean  - Outstanding Performance by an Actor in a Leading Role  

Joe Robinson - Rising Star Award

Izze Sajdak and Cierra Denning - Outstanding Achievement in Hair and Make-up

Heather Westenskow - Outsanding Achievement in Choreography

Jerry Vander Does and Steve Hinman - Outstanding Achievement in Musical Direction  

David Peterson - Outstanding Achievement in Direction

Erik Peterson - Outstanding Special Achievement Award Recipient – Performance by a Guest Artist

Stage Directions Magazine named Chaparral High School to its High School Honors program. Click here to read the article

National Critic Choice Performers

Taylor Gensch

Matt Steinbrener

Colorado Thespion State Officers

Matt DeJong

Anne Hart

Ty Eatherton

Colorado State Thespian Scholarship 

Shannon Foley

Sam Cossen

Taylor Gensch

State Critic's Choice Performers

Brittany Shaffer

Shelby Van Houweling

Chris Maclean - 2 times

Nicole Vander Does

Taylor Gensch - 2 times

Brooks Reid

Travis Little

Matt Steinbrener

Individual Event National Qualifiers

Lily Adkins

Bella Block

Owen Jenkins

Gwen Kingston

Molly McCarthy

Tessa McQueen - 2 times

Brandon Oster-Wickstrom

Mason Plost

Shannon Reilly

Kaleigh Switzer

Ben Zabikow - 2 times

Ashlyn Mundell

Kiarra Berry

Claire Suyat

Natalie Beaumont

Stella Bollefer

Sadie Crain - 2 times

Shannon Reilly

Hailey Rodgers

Olivia Schwab

Grace Clark - 3 times

Charlotte Padrnos

Laney Maddocks

Rose Terrill

Skyler O'Kelley - 2 Times

Donovan delRosario

Sydney Brown

Olivia Goff

Alyssa Daniels

Krya Kauffman 

Dylan Eric Damkoehler

Brielle Williams - 2 Times

Riley Milano

Skylar Bontempo

Ethan McBride 

Gabe Davis 

Riley Hibpshman - 4 Times

Adam Shupe

Braeden Hager

Lizie Conrad 

Caroline Norris - 2 Times

Nathan Hile

Paige Bowers 

Alex Hernandez

Adam Greek

Skylar Bontempo

AJ Duche - 2 Times

Lizzy Sodnicar

Charlotte Padrnos

Olivia Goff

Maddie Davies

Skyler Hoeger

Kyra Kauffman - 2 Times

Angela Howell

Joe Steiner - 4 Times

Kyah Conrad - 2 Times

Joe Robinson

Jacob Pederson

Izze Sajdak - 2 Times

Grace Nolte

Jack Griffin - 2 Times

Morgan Erwin - 4 Times

Noah Steinheimer

Bryce Lowry

Ty Eatherton

Adam Mueller

Miranda Metzler

Hannah Merrill

Brea Harris

Kaili Hearn

Josh Henry

Haleigh Stewart - 2 Times

Sean Link - 2 Times

Kyle Schtul - 2 Times

Connor Leyshon - 3 Times

Alex Soto

Stacy Smith

Rachel Hamalian

Sarah Fischer

Lacey Pederson - 2 Times

James Marsh

Natalie Leggett - 2 Times

Riley Martin - 2 Times

Colter Schmidt

Sam Cossen

Shae Anderson

Meghan Damour - 2 Times

Shelby Van Houweling - 3 Times

Amanda Hertzler  - 3 Times

Shannon Foley - 3 Times

Kaylee Lindahl - 2 Times

Connor Maclean

Matt DeJong

Cameron Walter

Chris Maclean - 3 Times

Kyleigh Harlow

Jake Miles

Brittany Shaffer - 2 Times

David Kelly 

Hilary Krieger

Elise Vander Does - 3 Times

Mikandrew Perdaris - 2 Times

Taylor Gensch - 3 Times

CJ Morris

Alyssa Miles

James Erickson - 2 Times

Jessica Sanders - 2 Times

Travis Little

Brooks Reid  - 2 Times

Jared Ming - 2 Times 

Whitney Meader

Mary Ann Gardunio

Matt Steinbrener

Parker Shakespeare Festival Mainstage

Benjamin Gebhart

AJ Duche'

Joe Steiner - 2 times

Dylan Eric Damkoehler

Cade Anderson

Michelle Diller

Morgan Erwin

Skyler Hoeger

Mollie Steward

Colorado Improv Frenzy Champion Team Members

Shannon Foley

Colorado Technical Theatre Challenge Awards Winners

2021 - Collin Manuello, Kate Psaltis, Grace Siauw, Lauren Smith, Ryan Tiggelaar

2019 - Katelynn Brusco, Alex Davis, Olivia Goff, Molly Peek, Shai-Ann Pettibone

2018 - Derek Anderson, Katelynn Brusco, Lizie Conrad, Megan Steinheimer, and Eli Vatsaas. 

2017 - Chloe Cherro, Megan Steinheimer, Eli Vatsaas, Lizie Conrad, Danny de Paz

2016 - Chloe Cherro, Brian Morgans, Megan Steinheimer, Eli Vatsaas, Will Walker

2013 - Maddie Barton, RJ Bruce, Elizabeth Brusco, Daniel Geerdes, Alex Groce, Erica Logsdon, Evan Lutze, Alex Maus, Miranda Metzler, Angela Palumbo 

National Performing Arts Festival Winners

Anne Hart - Original Song Writing

Chris Maclean - Outstanding Performance in a Musical

Jason Hickman - Outstanding Performance in a Original Show

Anderson Khalid - Outstanding Performance in a Musical

Jessica Van Houweling - Outstanding Performance in a Musical

Maddie Underwood - Original Song Writing

Andrew Server and Eric Tedesco - Creation of Comedic Character in a Show

Tori Green and Abbey Featherston - Outstanding Choreography

Kaylee Lindahl - Top Solo Performance

Amanda Hertzler and Kyleigh Harlow - Top Duet Performance

Kyleigh Harlow - Superior Solo Musical Theatre

Jamie McPherson - Outstanding Performance in an Ensemble Show

Sara Barnes, Jake Miles, and Erica Stenberg - Outstanding Original Song

Joe Souchek and Kirk Searcy - Outstanding Duet Scene

David Peterson - Outstanding Director

Congratulations to David Peterson for being named the 2014 Colorado High School Theatre Educator of the Year by Colorado Thespians

If any awards are missing please contact David Peterson